asio settings

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

asio settings

Post by gypsy101 » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:01 am

i'm new to all this asio stuff. i have asio4all and the question is ... can you adjust buffer size & latency settings while a song is playing? when i do it shuts down the hda device & i have to close mc3 & start again. i haven't found an answer from their forum - anyone here know about this ?

User avatar
Acoustica Eric
Site Admin
Posts: 5789
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Michigan, USA
Contact:

re

Post by Acoustica Eric » Sun Apr 22, 2007 9:42 am

Only that asio4all is a generic driver meant for cards that do not have native support.
You are better off using a card with it's own asio drivers.

leighm
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: asio settings

Post by leighm » Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:18 pm

gypsy101 wrote:i'm new to all this asio stuff. i have asio4all and the question is ... can you adjust buffer size & latency settings while a song is playing? when i do it shuts down the hda device & i have to close mc3 & start again. i haven't found an answer from their forum - anyone here know about this ?
ASIO4ALL suggests that any preferences be changed through the software doing the recording's control panel, not the stand-alone controls they provide... In Mixcraft's case, the preference panel, therefore the asio settings are unavailable while recording.

gypsy101
Posts: 2322
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: near Music City,USA

Post by gypsy101 » Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:28 pm

thats what i did but it was not during recording- it was during playback. i finally got it set right and killed the latency issues i was having,but thanx for clearing that up. my settings are 176 samples in & out and the buffer size is 208 (works for my system).

leighm
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by leighm » Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:34 pm

gypsy101 wrote:thats what i did but it was not during recording- it was during playback. i finally got it set right and killed the latency issues i was having,but thanx for clearing that up. my settings are 176 samples in & out and the buffer size is 208 (works for my system).
I'm not doing much where latency is a big issue so after a while of futzing around with ASIO and not being able to resolve a random 'skipping' problem I went back to WAV files. My three year old computer might be feeling a bit... overtaxed...

Post Reply