ASIO question for Mixcraft 3.0

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

EL34

ASIO question for Mixcraft 3.0

Post by EL34 » Tue May 09, 2006 8:49 am

I'm not a real techie on what ASIO is or isn't so bear with me.

I have some Guitar Emulation software that I use called Guitar rig.

The guitar is plugged into an external pre amp then fed into my soundcard line in. Guitar rig routes that line in signal and uses that signal to create the emulation sounds.

Guitar rig uses ASIO drivers and I get about 2ms latency using ASIO.

I route guitar rig out to wav output to be able to amplify it and hear it through my soundcard line out/amplifier/speakers/headphones.

When I record/overdub guitar rig in mixcraft I also hear the backing track because mixcraft is not able to grab the guitar rig signal direct through ASIO? The GR signal and mixcraft playback signals are all mixed together on the sound card wav out mixer channel even though overdub is checked.

The way I get around this is two sound cards. I route the playback through one card and Guitar rig is played through the other sound card. This solves the problem of re-recording the backing track, but I have two amps and two external speaker sets to be able to do this.
I like to record//overdub/listen to the playback on a speaker system way better than listening to the mix on headphones.

In mixcraft 3 I should be able to record guitar rig direct through ASIO, correct? Mixcraft will play back the mix on my soundcard wav out channel and grab the Guitar rig signal via ASIO direct? Is this correct?

Acoustica Greg

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue May 09, 2006 1:18 pm

Hi EL34,