MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
WilliamTheTaft
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:10 pm

MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by WilliamTheTaft » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:34 pm

Hello,

I current am using mixcraft 6, and I'm having a lot of trouble getting my MIDI instruments to play along with this software.

I've tried to no avail with the following:
-Rock Band Video Game Keyboard
-Rock Band Pro Guitar
-Technics SX-KN6000

I have also tried two of the black and silver MIDI to usb cables, which both show ligh-ups, but the instruments still make no input.

Any help is appreciated!

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21018
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:46 pm

Hi,

Make sure that the MIDI Out on the device is connected to MIDI In on the adapter cables.

Greg

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Anorax » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:00 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Make sure that the MIDI Out on the device is connected to MIDI In on the adapter cables.

Greg
This is one of the most confusing things about these cables. If you're new to using MIDI converters and you buy one, more likely than not there's no instruction manual, so it all comes down to trial and error for the first few minutes.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21018
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:20 pm

Hi,

Yes, this is a very common problem. Just remember to connect MIDI Out port on the keyboard to the part of the adapter cable labeled "MIDI In."

Greg

WilliamTheTaft
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by WilliamTheTaft » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:37 pm

I've done it both ways, to no success. Any other tips?

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Anorax » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:49 pm

WilliamTheTaft wrote:I've done it both ways, to no success. Any other tips?
Are you capable of taking pictures of what you're doing with either
1) your hardware, or
2) Mixcraft, as far as setting up MIDI input (you can upload screenshots right into the forums)?

One thing you should double check is your MIDI settings within Mixcraft itself. See if anything is showing up as a midi device.

WilliamTheTaft
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by WilliamTheTaft » Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:58 pm

I can tonight, but as for the hardware showing up, it does.

It's under USB 2.0.

Will share pics soon.

Tiasdad
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: Tamworth, UK

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Tiasdad » Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:37 pm

If you're sure the hardware is showing up in the devices, do the input/volume levels move when you 'Arm' a midi track and play your hardware?
Gary
“Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible.” ― Frank Zappa
My Soundcloud

WilliamTheTaft
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2015 6:10 pm

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by WilliamTheTaft » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:35 pm

they do not.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21018
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MIDI instruments are not playing when plugged in.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 26, 2015 4:40 pm

Hi,

Make sure you don't have any other audio programs running. If you've got another program that uses MIDI running in the background, it can intercept the MIDI. If that's not the problem...

Are you picking up MIDI in another programs right now? Are you sure MIDI is coming into your computer?

If you don't have any other MIDI programs, you could test it with MIDI Ox.

Greg

Post Reply