Mixcraft Suggestions!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

bigaquarium
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by bigaquarium » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:22 am

Almost forgot! If we could make it so the auto quantize feature doesn’t force the note length to the quantization setting, or at least make it a separate option, that would be great.

So for instance, if I record a 16th note passage staccato and auto quantize it on recording, it winds up legato. This is irritating.

-N
Last edited by bigaquarium on Tue Jan 22, 2019 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20475
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 02, 2019 10:46 am

jlouvar wrote:Question: My son-in-law uses Logic... What Stems mixdown settings should I use so he can play/record to it with Logic?
Wav, would probably be best. The files will be very large (since they are uncompressed).
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by bigaquarium » Wed Jan 02, 2019 12:41 pm

Afternoon,

A way to split the metronome output into a separate monitor channel would be great for live/improvised performances. Also, auto quantize of the very first beat on all clips would be nice for those of us who jump the gun a bit and have the first note disappear entirely because it was a hair early.

-N

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:26 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
jlouvar wrote:Question: My son-in-law uses Logic... What Stems mixdown settings should I use so he can play/record to it with Logic?
Wav, would probably be best. The files will be very large (since they are uncompressed).
Okay, thank you.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by bigaquarium » Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:49 pm

Ooo ooo a tempo knob in performance panel mode that takes effect on cue! Great live/ DJing feature it would be! Either that or tempo setting for sets.

-N

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:19 pm

Mixcraft 9.0 Suggestion: A quick simple way to add measures anywhere to tracks would be way cool. :wink:
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20475
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:22 pm

jlouvar wrote:Mixcraft 9.0 Suggestion: A quick simple way to add measures anywhere to tracks would be way cool. :wink:
Hi,

Something different than the "insert time" feature? Just highlight a section of the timeline, then right-click on it and select the option to insert time.

Here's a video: Inserting and Removing Time in Mixcraft

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:29 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
jlouvar wrote:Mixcraft 9.0 Suggestion: A quick simple way to add measures anywhere to tracks would be way cool. :wink:
Hi,

Something different than the "insert time" feature? Just highlight a section of the timeline, then right-click on it and select the option to insert time.

Here's a video: Inserting and Removing Time in Mixcraft

Greg
Oh wow, awesome, yeah that's what was I wanting... Thank you Greg. :D
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:05 pm

jlouvar wrote:
Acoustica Greg wrote:
jlouvar wrote:Mixcraft 9.0 Suggestion: A quick simple way to add measures anywhere to tracks would be way cool. :wink:
Hi,

Something different than the "insert time" feature? Just highlight a section of the timeline, then right-click on it and select the option to insert time.

Here's a video: Inserting and Removing Time in Mixcraft

Greg
Oh wow, awesome, yeah that's what was I wanting... Thank you Greg. :D
Hmm, it doesn't seem too work with snap set to off?
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20475
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:27 pm

jlouvar wrote:Hmm, it doesn't seem too work with snap set to off?
Hi,

Yes, it does work with snap off. Try right-clicking within the selection on the timeline at the top of Mixcraft's screen.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bigaquarium
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by bigaquarium » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:56 pm

Evening,

On an unrelated note, the promotional splash pages on Acoustica.com are always way oversized/out of bounds on my various mobile device browsers, iPhone and Windows Phone alike. I always wind up reloading the page to get to the site.


- N

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Thu Jan 03, 2019 6:14 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
jlouvar wrote:Hmm, it doesn't seem too work with snap set to off?
Hi,

Yes, it does work with snap off. Try right-clicking within the selection on the timeline at the top of Mixcraft's screen.

Greg
Got it, thanks again. :D
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

bigaquarium
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by bigaquarium » Sat Jan 05, 2019 3:19 am

Morning!

Really digging the performance panel! My wife had to tear me away from it last night so I could get to sleep for work today, lol.

A feature I would find useful would be a playlist function where you could trigger a sequence of sets just like a set, and also include an ending function so it could be brought to a graceful stop without having to mother hen it during a live performance.

-N

lingyai
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 5:34 pm

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by lingyai » Sun Jan 06, 2019 6:08 pm

[quote="jumbodude"]

Finally i use a vst called Scaler which again is basically a chord trigger and scale trigger/re-mapper like you find in Ableton. As I am no keyboard player as such Scaler allows you to play chords with one finger and play a matching scale on a re-mapped keyboard. However when I come to record Scaler in Mixcraft it only records the inputted single midi notes and not the chords being triggered - yes you can use this to re-trigger Scaler again to play the chords again but it would be useful to have the full actual midi of the chords being played as well. Again Ableton Lite can do this but Mixcraft cannot./quote]

Mixcraft can in fact record the processed MIDI output from Scaler, etc. Here is an example video I made a while back showing how to do it with Cthulu (another midi-generating VSTi which, among other things, lets you play one key and get a midi chord as output).

You will need to download the free LoopMidi thingie to make it work. Apologies, the video could have been slicker, but the method it shows does work. I found that the first few times it took me a few minutes to set up; now, maybe 45 seconds.

https://screencast-o-matic.com/watch/cblOn02RfU

This works with other midi-generating VSTis as well, e.g EZKeys, Catanya, Kontakt with "Send scripted midi to the outside world" enabled, etc.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Mixcraft Suggestions!

Post by jlouvar » Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:14 pm

Suggestion: A way to monitor the click without needing to hit record or play.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

Post Reply