Checking Mix in Mono

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1706
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Checking Mix in Mono

Post by Rolling Estonian » Tue Jul 28, 2015 7:59 pm

Hey all,

I have a pretty simple question, well I hope so anyway.....

I've heard a few folks say that they like to listen to their mix in mono rather in stereo to check them. Seems to make a lot of sense but how? I've looked and found I can click on the track and select channels then either l or R instead of stereo...... Is this the only way or is there a way to get to mono in the master?

Thanks,

M

Sami Seif
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:34 pm

Re: Checking Mix in Mono

Post by Sami Seif » Wed Jul 29, 2015 1:14 am

Hi,
Go to the top left of the screen, select "file", and then "mix down to...", you can select wav or MP3, and in the settings, with the bit depth, and sample rate, you can select weather you want mono or stereo. Don't convert every stereo track to mono, because if you do that, that won't give you the same sound, as if you mix down to a mono file, because when you do that, the left and right channel are summed into 1, and that's not the same thing as chiding one of 2 channels for each stereo track.

User avatar
Mab098157
Posts: 267
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: Checking Mix in Mono

Post by Mab098157 » Wed Jul 29, 2015 6:23 am

I use a plug in on my master bus that let's me force to mono during mixing. I think there are several out there. I use DFX monomaker http://www.kvraudio.com/product/dfx_mon ... electronix
Mark Bowie
Illinois

It's all in your mind

User avatar
fredfish
Posts: 1365
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 12:57 pm
Location: Colchester, Essex, UK

Re: Checking Mix in Mono

Post by fredfish » Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:51 am

Mab098157 wrote:I use a plug in on my master bus that let's me force to mono during mixing. I think there are several out there. I use DFX monomaker http://www.kvraudio.com/product/dfx_mon ... electronix
Potentially very useful. Thanks for posting.

I have just been reading this blog post which is relevant.

http://therecordingrevolution.com/2015/ ... ur-tracks/

Cheers

John

Ianpb
Posts: 1243
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Checking Mix in Mono

Post by Ianpb » Wed Jul 29, 2015 5:41 pm

Many people like to perform the final mix in mono, because doing so in stereo causes distractions to the brain.

Place where you would roughly like the individual tracks to appear in the stereo field, switch on the mono plugin situated in the mix-buss, and then adjust all the equalisations and effects. When it sounds good in this mono state, disable the mono plugin and become overjoyed at how glorious your stereo mix sounds.

Post Reply