"Stop Song" Commando?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
UilleannB
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 1:55 pm
Contact:

"Stop Song" Commando?

Post by UilleannB » Sun Oct 04, 2015 1:55 am

Hello.
I am working on a track that later should be looped (it is for a game soundtrack), the track end and begin should fade into each other. My current issue is, that I have the perfect time in the song where it should stop and start again (that's where the music clip ends). But when I export it to wav or mp3, Mixcraft makes it a longer track, because the VST instruments used at the end have a longer decay time after they are released (f.e. a reverse cymbal, that "pushes" the end of the tune into the beginning still rings after the end of the instrument clip and fades only slowly). I can't find a command that sets a certain endpoint to a song, but I think there should be one. Someone can give me a hint please?

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: "Stop Song" Commando?

Post by Juno » Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:51 am

Import the exported wave, and trim/fade away! :wink: Then export it a second time.
If you set Mixcraft to display TIME (instead of BEATS) and zoom in, you can do it very precise. It probably still takes some trials.

Using fx on this imported wav may create a similar problem, so make sure that your imported wav only needs trimming and/or fading.
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6629
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: "Stop Song" Commando?

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:19 am

Avoid MP3 for loops, as it is unreliable for start times. (Adds small amounts on mixdown.)

If you highlight the section and get it looping as desired, select "File/mix down to/.wav" and click on "use selection", it will render only the highlighted range.

Go ahead. Get loopy with it. :lol:
Loopy.jpg
Loopy.jpg (20.77 KiB) Viewed 760 times
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

UilleannB
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon May 14, 2012 1:55 pm
Contact:

Re: "Stop Song" Commando?

Post by UilleannB » Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:23 am

Thanks. There are several ways it seems

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6629
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: "Stop Song" Commando?

Post by Mark Bliss » Mon Oct 05, 2015 6:36 am

Seems there always is! 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply