New computer advice

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

Bobby4157

New computer advice

Post by Bobby4157 »

I currently have a really good lap top I work with and it does have its limitations. Soon I plan to buy myself a desktop strictly for recording. My income is limited due to being a brittle diabetic. Enough on that subject.

I am not a "computer expert" although I am not a novice either. My hobbies are guitars/music and computers. My plans are to invest in a desktop strictly dedicated to Mixcraft projects. Internet connected of course. I have spent a good deal of time on tigerdirect.com and walked away more confused than when I started my research today. I'd rather not "build my own" computer although I figured a quality soundcard (soundcards?) might need major considerations. A $500.00 range or less seems to work but on a limited income less is better. I understand Mac is really good, my budget probably dictates a PC.

Could someone make some starting recommendations? I understand this could be as subjective as auto preferences. I plan to utilize two screens and have those on the way. I have studio monitors I am very happy with and currently satisfied with my Tascam interface. Not being a fan of windows 8 does 10 work ok with Mixcraft 7 Pro Studio?

Thanks in advance for your time!
Bobby
Acoustica Greg

Re: New computer advice

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,

A good strategy is to start by looking at gaming computers. They're designed for high performance video and audio.

Windows 10 does work well with Mixcraft, and in fact Mixcraft 7.5 has some enhancements that take specific advantage of Windows 10's new features. The main concern there is whether your Tascam has Windows 10 drivers.

Greg
Bobby4157

Post by Bobby4157 »