Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
arbe
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:51 pm

Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by arbe » Tue Nov 17, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi, does MC7 have a simple way to change the tempo and change the pitch of an audio file without distortion for practicing, to enable jamming, learning a fast lick, or when using Punch In/Out Recording etc...?

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by Juno » Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:42 pm

This can be done on the sound tab. See this chapter in the online manual for the details.

Some sounds are of course more prone to distorting than others, so it's hard to say if this does exactly what you want it to. :wink:
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

arbe
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:51 pm

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by arbe » Thu Nov 19, 2015 4:45 pm

Greetings Juno, thanks for your quick reply,,

Without using the Sound Tab, is it possible to change the tempo of a looped section of an audio file (up or down) while remaining in the Main Clip Grid?


regards,

arbe

User avatar
Ajgi
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:19 am
Location: Auckrand, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by Ajgi » Thu Nov 19, 2015 5:17 pm

You can hold control and drag the end of the clip, if that's what you mean?
Ajgi.net
SoundCloud
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Wharfedale Diamond 8.2 Studio Monitors, Sennheiser HD280pro, Shure SM57,

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by Juno » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:15 am

arbe wrote:Without using the Sound Tab, is it possible to change the tempo of a looped section of an audio file (up or down) while remaining in the Main Clip Grid?
Well, yes, but probably not the way you mean or want it.
You can always change the tempo by clicking on the bpm section in the transport bar. But then the entire project changes tempo, not just the looped section. Nevertheless, you can change it there, and -of course- change it back, too.

Or you can drop a marker at the loop start (to change the tempo to the new tempo) and another at the end (to go back to the old tempo). You could set them in advance and place them out of the way, like this:
marker tempo setup.jpg
marker tempo setup.jpg (184.88 KiB) Viewed 1779 times
You can then drag them to where you need them; the first one has the new tempo, the 2nd one has the old tempo.
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

arbe
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:51 pm

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by arbe » Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:22 am

Hi Juno, huge thanks, this helps me a lot!

arbe

User avatar
Juno
Posts: 523
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 8:42 am
Location: Amsterdam, Nederland

Re: Transposing and Changing Tempo of audio files

Post by Juno » Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:32 am

You're welcome!
We the undersigned being of sound mind hereby do declare:
'We henceforth pledge ourselves unto the power of the Upper Air'
Doesn't that sound simply super
Zeppelin visions of the future
Of course we all know very well it wouldn't work but what the hell

Post Reply