Loops?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Loops?

Post by kr236rk » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:02 am

Hi,

How do you make a seamless loop in Mixcraft please?

Also, are there effect pedals out there which can do this - like if you want to make a guitar-based drone audio, without stops and starts?

Thanks,
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

James Klutho
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:35 am

Re: Loops?

Post by James Klutho » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:18 pm

Record your guitar rhythm pattern to a specific drum beat (on a separate track - say 120 BPM). If you want a 2 bar loop, I would record 12 bars or so, giving lots to choose from. With all your effects in place (amplitube, maybe so EQ etc,) render the track to a wave. Open it in Audacity, copy the 2 best bars, normalize etc. and fade in the first millisecond and fadeout the last millisecond to ground it to zero. Export to mp3, ogg, or wave to your choosing and name the loop with key, BPM and some description. Then import that back into Mixcraft Loop library.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21802
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Loops?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:27 pm

Hi,

For seamless loops, never use MP3 format, because the header information in the MP3 file will sometimes give you an interrupted loop. Wav format is best, or if you want a compressed format, use Ogg.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Loops?

Post by kr236rk » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:12 am

Thanks,

Are there any video tutorials please?

I made a loop using a Ditto stomp box but I'd like to be able to do the same in Mixcraft :)
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21802
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Loops?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Dec 15, 2016 12:01 pm

Hi,

What part are you getting stuck on? How far do you get? Select the audio clip, then look at the sound tab. The sound tab has its own snap setting, so adjust that as necessary. Drag the loop start and loop end markers to get the sound to loop exactly where you want it.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Loops?

Post by kr236rk » Tue Apr 11, 2017 7:41 pm

Thanks Greg,

I need to experiment with this.

Ric
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

Post Reply