How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
nitram44
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:07 pm

How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by nitram44 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:10 pm

Hi,

With my band we are going to the studio soon, so i have to record guitars part with metronome of our song for our drummer.
But when i'm done and when i want to mix the project to a .mp3 or .wav, the final song don't have the metronome but just the guitar. But i need to hear metronome on the final mix for our drummer? How can i do it please??

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Anorax » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:13 pm

You're using mixcraft 7, correct?

nitram44
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:07 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by nitram44 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:14 pm

nop , mixcraft 6

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Anorax » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:18 pm

nitram44 wrote:nop , mixcraft 6
Hmm. That'll make things slightly more difficult.

Well, here's an obligatory sales pitch - if you upgrade to Mixcraft 7 soon (it's about $30 to go from 6 to 7), you'll get a free upgrade to Mixcraft 8 when it's released in the (very) near future.

I have a fairly easy solution for Mixcraft 7 (using the Omni Sampler), but I'll need to reinstall 6 and see what can be done there so I could give you an answer pertaining to what you're currently working with.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21798
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:24 pm

Hi,

You could make a MIDI clip with wood block sounds on it and then loop it for the duration of the song.
click_track.mid
MIDI file
(504 Bytes) Downloaded 87 times
Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

nitram44
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:07 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by nitram44 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:26 pm

erf, thank for your answer but i just can't afford to buy it from now with all the money that i have to spend for studio X_X

dont know how im gonna do so..

nitram44
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:07 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by nitram44 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:29 pm

"Hi,

You could make a MIDI clip with wood block sounds on it and then loop it for the duration of the song."

that will sound like a metronome? How can i do that?? Please !!!

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21798
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:30 pm

Hi,

Here you go:
click_track.mid
MIDI click track
(504 Bytes) Downloaded 106 times
If you don't like the sound, just change the virtual instrument and/or position of the notes.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

nitram44
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:07 pm

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by nitram44 » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:41 pm

thank a lot <3

Slimy
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2015 5:45 am

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Slimy » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:44 pm

If your song has no tempo or time signature changes, you could drag "SquareTick-High.wav" and "SquareTick-Low.wav" from your install directory, put them on quarter notes plus one extra at the end, right-click and press "merge," then drag the loop end marker so that it loops just before the extra tick.

User avatar
AHornsby
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: NE Oklahoma

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by AHornsby » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:56 pm

nitram44 wrote:Hi,

With my band we are going to the studio soon, so i have to record guitars part with metronome of our song for our drummer.
But when i'm done and when i want to mix the project to a .mp3 or .wav, the final song don't have the metronome but just the guitar. But i need to hear metronome on the final mix for our drummer? How can i do it please??
You can record the guitars on the left track and the metronome on the right. -h

User avatar
AHornsby
Posts: 1169
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: NE Oklahoma

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by AHornsby » Tue Jan 03, 2017 10:01 pm

nitram44 wrote:erf, thank for your answer but i just can't afford to buy it from now with all the money that i have to spend for studio X_X

dont know how im gonna do so..
Why don't you just download the free trial of 7? -h

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7098
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: How can i mix the song with Metronome?

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Jan 03, 2017 11:10 pm

The first thing I would do is discuss with the drummer what he might prefer and what he feels suits his and the songs style. I have found many times that the drummer has a strong preference there.
I often prefer a click of either kick and snare, or rim/snare, roughly fitting the songs style as a starting point.

The next thing would depend on just what you intend to take into the studio. Multi tracks would be desired, which makes the click track just another track.
How to go about this exactly would rely on the format used on the studios DAW, so another conversation is in order there.
They will likely want wav files, which you can create and mix down from Mixcraft, but the discussion may include other details from levels to effects.
Personally if I were the producer, I would want both effected and dry, so as to hear your idea but have maximum options.

But in the end, getting back to your original question. The click track is the easiest part IMO.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply