How do I make my recordings sound good through speakers?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

TheDilla9000

How do I make my recordings sound good through speakers?

Post by TheDilla9000 »

When I play my recordings through my head phones it sounds great, all the volumes of each instrument blend well to my liking, but when I go to play the recording through speakers it's sounds terrible (and it's not a speakers problem) all the various instrument volume levels are off from what they sounded like through the headphones, the lower notes seem to fuzz out, and it just doesn't sound clear at all. I'm kinda new to recording and I hope its not something I'm doing wrong with how I have the program set up when I'm recording but I'm pretty sure that's not the case cause I've watched a couple YouTube videos on how to set it up. I'm assuming this has to do with mastering?
If someone could explain to me why this happens and point me in the right direction that would be very appreciated. Thanks! :D
Ianpb

Re: How do I make my recordings sound good through speakers?

Post by Ianpb »

I experienced that issue when I tried mixing with my old Shure SRH440 headphones. As with you, the mix sounded great through the headphones, but when played through the monitors it was awful, with track levels and EQ all wrong.

The problem is with your headphones. Hifi headphones are just way too forgiving, and fail to allow for critical adjustments. It's the same problem that exists with hifi loudspeakers, which are also very forgiving, and designed to make music sound as good as possible, yet fail to accurately reproduce the mix itself. I was influenced by the claims of 'studio grade' when buying the Shure headphones, but realised that this is nothing but marketing hype. This claim is even made by the awful Beats for some of their headphone models!