Line out from amp to computer ???

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
J Gretch
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:39 am

Line out from amp to computer ???

Post by J Gretch » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:32 am

A quick question about the input jacks on my computers sound card.I want to lay down some voice tracks with our singer this weekend and all my goodies from m-audio arn't going to be here till sometime next week.

I was wondering if I can use the line out jack on a guitar amp and plug it into my computer as a temperary fix?..ie use the guitar amp as a makeshift pre-amp....And if so should I plug into the line in or the mic in?

I realize that the sound quality may not be the best but I was just wondering if this wuold even work.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20989
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:14 am

Hi,

You would go into the Line In input and I'm thinking it will work, as long as the amp is providing a line level output. If the output is labeled "Line Out," it should be fine.

Greg

J Gretch
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:39 am

Post by J Gretch » Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:05 am

The amp jack is indeed labled "Line Out" but I wasn't sure that it produced the same line level that computers need...I'll let you know how it works out.

Thanks

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20989
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:49 pm

Let us know how it goes.

J Gretch
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:39 am

Post by J Gretch » Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:23 am

Well the" line out from the guitar amp idea "didn't work as well as I had hoped.The signal coming from the line out on the amp doesn't seem to be strong enough.It's an early 80s model Deluxe Reverb so there could be a problem with the amp that I'm not aware of.

What I ended up doing was using my little bass amp that has a nice EQ and a front headphone jack.I went from the headphone jack to the line in jack on the computer and was able to adjust a pretty good sound.

We used a Drum loop out of the mx3 library,and layed down the guitar track using a RP-250 pedal (again coming out of the headphone jack),Then we layed down the bass track and vocal track with the method discribed above...I know it sounds like a lot of trouble but we had fun and the final mix didn't sound too bad.

Does anyone here use the line out from their amp straight into the computer? I'm beginning to think that I'm going to need a pre-amp to go along with the Delta 44 ?

User avatar
EL34
Posts: 726
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 5:25 am
Location: Pisgah Forest, NC
Contact:

Post by EL34 » Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:57 am

I use a stereo tube guitar preamp.
Then into the line in on the soundcard
Then processed with Guitar Rig 3.

Line outs on amps sound bad even if you do get a proper signal level. They are usually a el-cheapo simple taps off the speaker jack. They usually sound gritty and not like the sound you are used to hearing coming out of the speaker.

Effects sends on amps are preamp signals and work fine.
You don't get your power tube sound in the signal with an effects out signal or a tube preamp like I use.

I have a Palmer PGA-04 which is a high end device that can soak up the power signal from an amp, eq it many ways and it produces a great line level signal for recording. But that item is over $600 or so these days.

Some pedals can act as a preamp if you can turn the effects off and just use the buffer.
I had a TC electronics chorus/flange pedal that had a bypass. It would amplify the guitar signal enough to feed into a line on on the computer and it had a super clean sound cause it's a high quality pedal.

Still it's no where as nice as a good tube preamp sound, but will work just fine.

J Gretch
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:39 am

Post by J Gretch » Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:46 pm

That is some serious equipment you got there EL34 I bet it sounds like a dream...I'm on a more modest budget and was considering something in the $100.00 to $200.00 range.

As a good friend of mine says "If I spend more than that it better come with a divorce lawyer" :lol:

dfarrell
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 9:27 pm

Post by dfarrell » Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:43 pm

I use a Line6 tone port. It can handle all yuor guitar input and microphone input needs, as well as giving you a lot of signal processing. I paid less than than $150.00 for it.

Post Reply