Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

bob53050
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:51 pm

Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by bob53050 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:59 am

Sorry if I missed this in my search but was hoping to checking if this was an option for my Windows 8.1 laptop.

Thanks for any insights,

Bob

User avatar
freightgod
Posts: 652
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 5:18 am

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by freightgod » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:50 am

Yes. 8 can open 7 files, but not the other way around.

bob53050
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by bob53050 » Mon Feb 13, 2017 11:52 am

Thanks for the reply.

So no conflicting issues (dlls) with Mixcraft 7 and 8?

Bob

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6753
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Mark Bliss » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:42 pm

If by dll's you mean plug ins, not really.

Plug in's, project files, etc. are stored outside the Mixcraft program, so they are retained, generally creating little or no problem changing versions.

I think there have been some rare instances where an old project, opened in a newer version of Mixcraft loses track of where to find a third party plug in that was previously used. It should be easy to re-associate the folder or file and get it going again.

I usually leave the old version installed for a short time when I upgrade to a new version, but have found more and more..... its really not necessary. It just makes me feel better I guess.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

aj113
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by aj113 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:37 am

MC 8 has plugin delay compensation. If you have nudged anything in your MC 7 project to maually compensate, MC 8 will play it out of sync.

For me, this means pretty much all MC 7 projects.

bob53050
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by bob53050 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:10 am

Hello all,

Sorry for my vagueness in my original request:

I was asking if there are issues if I install Mixcraft 8 on a computer where I have Mixcraft 7 already installed and after installing Mixcraft 8 am I still able to use Mixcraft 7 in case I have issues with Mixcraft 8?

This is on a Windows 8.1 laptop.

Thanks,

Bob

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20902
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:15 am

Hi,

Yes, you can certainly do that. I keep Mixcraft 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 installed at the same time. Mixcraft 8 can even open Mixcraft 2 projects.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

bob53050
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by bob53050 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:18 am

Thanks Greg :)

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by BillW » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:58 pm

I just want to be sure from a licensing point of view. Are we allowed to run both 7 and 8? Simultaneously?

Sounds odd but I did this tonight. I am learning a song from JamTracks I bought (that has separate mp3 files for each track. I loaded each of about 10 tracks in mx7, and in mx8 I'm recording.

So I can go over to 7,play a section of one track, or some combination to get some5ideas, then bounce over to 8

In 7 I can slow down a section to learn it etc. Very little resources since it's just mp3 with no fx.

And I'll wait to add fx like eq and compression to my mx8 project until I've got it all and don't need the mp3 files in 7

But my question is, am I doing anything "illegal" by running both simultaneously?
Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

Image

User avatar
Ajgi
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:19 am
Location: Auckrand, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Ajgi » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:04 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:Hi,

Mixcraft 8 can even open Mixcraft 2 projects.

Greg
I'm not sure if this is a sign of very good backwards compatibility, or a sign that Mixcraft 8 includes a lot of very old code :lol:
Ajgi.net
SoundCloud
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Wharfedale Diamond 8.2 Studio Monitors, Sennheiser HD280pro, Shure SM57,

aj113
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by aj113 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:42 am

BillW wrote:....

But my question is, am I doing anything "illegal" by running both simultaneously?
No, you've paid for both so you can use them both however you please. But why don't you just ditch 7 and open up two instances of 8?

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Anorax » Tue Feb 21, 2017 6:22 am

aj113 wrote:
BillW wrote:....

But my question is, am I doing anything "illegal" by running both simultaneously?
No, you've paid for both so you can use them both however you please. But why don't you just ditch 7 and open up two instances of 8?
If it ain't broke, why fix it?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20902
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:40 am

Ajgi wrote:I'm not sure if this is a sign of very good backwards compatibility, or a sign that Mixcraft 8 includes a lot of very old code :lol:
Just giving the customers what they want: our customers love being able to open their old project in the new version. They'd hate it if the new version couldn't load old projects.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 700
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by BillW » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:19 am

aj113 wrote:But why don't you just ditch 7 and open up two instances of 8?
My thinking is that 7 uses less resources than 8 - and since all i'm going in 7 is playing mp3 files (solo or in some combination of 2 or more tracks) why take up valuable cpu?

I actually thought of downloading Audacity (again under the "less resources" assumption) but I want to keep all my work in the MX family.

Thanks for the responses to my question. Good to know I'm not in violation of anything.
Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

Image

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20902
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Can we run Mixcraft 7 and 8 side by side?

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:27 am

Hi,

Mixcraft 8 might use less resources than Mixcraft 7 in a lot of cases. For example, it uses less resources when loading 32-bit plugins into 64-bit Mixcraft. It also has other optimizations.


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply