Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

James Klutho
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:35 am

Re: Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Post by James Klutho » Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:02 pm

Does Mixcraft make full use of multi-core processing?

Only Acoustica can answer this but usually the Audio Engine needs to be on a single core due to timing considerations. So a 4 core i7 and 4Ghz with give better performance than a slower 16 core Xeon due to the audio engine being on a single core and is the bottleneck.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21798
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 27, 2017 1:38 pm

James Klutho wrote:Does Mixcraft make full use of multi-core processing?

Only Acoustica can answer this but usually the Audio Engine needs to be on a single core due to timing considerations. So a 4 core i7 and 4Ghz with give better performance than a slower 16 core Xeon due to the audio engine being on a single core and is the bottleneck.
Hi,

Mixcraft does take full advantage of multi-core processing. The tracks are divvied up into separate processing threads.

UNLESS... you select "Force Single CPU" in Sound Device preferences. On some slower dual core computers, selecting Force Single CPU can help, because the computer is too slow in juggling the multiple processing threads.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Post by BillW » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:19 pm

OK - thanks Greg.

Good to know that when I can justify the cost of a new computer, it's worth going with the i5 (quad core) vs the i3 (dual core) for performance.

But what you said about "slower dual core" processors fits me exactly with my Celeron dual core. I think I'll try your "force single CPU" to see if that helps or hurts.
Proud member of the Mixcraft OFC!

Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21798
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 27, 2017 3:33 pm

BillW wrote:OK - thanks Greg.

Good to know that when I can justify the cost of a new computer, it's worth going with the i5 (quad core) vs the i3 (dual core) for performance.

But what you said about "slower dual core" processors fits me exactly with my Celeron dual core. I think I'll try your "force single CPU" to see if that helps or hurts.
Hi,

Yes, just remember to switch it back off if you end up with worse performance. :wink:

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 709
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Increased RAM from 4gb to 8gb but...

Post by BillW » Tue Mar 28, 2017 9:58 am

Yes - that did in fact give worse performance. I switched it back.

So as I said, I can live with this until I can afford a new machine. It's not a big deal to freeze tracks on occasion - and for mixing I believe it's a good practice to convert the finished recorded to audio anyway.
Proud member of the Mixcraft OFC!

Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

Post Reply