Double Bass synth?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Double Bass synth?

Post by kr236rk » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:36 pm

Hi,

Have an electric bass but what's the best way to emulate the sound of a bowed double bass please? I toyed with the idea of a bass guitar 'gizmo' but these look glitchy to me - all those cogs spinning round.

Any ideas please - apart from buying a double bass that is! :-o

Thanks :)
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

User avatar
Ajgi
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 5:19 am
Location: Auckrand, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by Ajgi » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:56 pm

kr236rk wrote:Hi,

Have an electric bass but what's the best way to emulate the sound of a bowed double bass please? I toyed with the idea of a bass guitar 'gizmo' but these look glitchy to me - all those cogs spinning round.

Any ideas please - apart from buying a double bass that is! :-o

Thanks :)
I don't think there's any good way to get your (presumably) fretted electric bass to sound like a double bass, especially a bowed one. If you get a volume pedal and a slide you can get a more bowed-like sound. An example of this is a bassist called Janek Gwizdala, who uses an octave pedal and gets a very violin-like tone.
In this video he isn't using a slide, but I think he's running his bass through: volume pedal, octave pedal, compressor, reverb. https://youtu.be/LTDKw9Z5C9E?t=8m21s

If you're just looking for a way to get this sound in Mixcraft for composition purposes, one of Mixcraft's virtual instruments is called Double Bass. It's under the Strings - Solo category. It's got a pretty decent sound.
Ajgi.net
SoundCloud
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Wharfedale Diamond 8.2 Studio Monitors, Sennheiser HD280pro, Shure SM57,

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2552
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by trevlyns » Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:17 am

On one of my songs, I used an electric bass initially, then imported the WAV into Melodyne. I then exported it as a MIDI file which I used with Kontakt Free as a VSTi. It has an excellent upright bass.

Here's the result..

https://soundcloud.com/trevlyns-1/swonderful
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by kr236rk » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:47 am

Thanks Trev and Ajgi :)

Fascinating!

How on earth do you export a Wav into a midi file please? :-o

Bests,
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2552
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by trevlyns » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:21 am

kr236rk wrote:Thanks Trev and Ajgi :)

Fascinating!

How on earth do you export a Wav into a midi file please? :-o

Bests,
I had Melodyne as a separate program - this was prior to MC8 Pro. I just recorded the bass (DI) and mixed down just that bass track to a WAV stem. I then opened it in Melodyne, tinkered with it a bit and then Melodyne allows you to save the work as a MIDI file. So dragged this MIDI file into Mixcraft and added the Kontakt VSTi
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6753
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:19 am

Just for clarification:
The "Essentials" version in MX8PS wont do that. You would need an upgraded version.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by kr236rk » Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:05 am

Thanks Trevor :)

What do you mean Mark, that MC8 won't allow dragging MIDI files into Mixcraft please?

Please explain.

Many thanks
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6753
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Oct 10, 2017 10:09 am

I meant that Trevor's trick of creating MIDI from audio using Melodyne, requires an upgrade from Melodyne essentials.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by kr236rk » Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:39 pm

Cool :) So which versions of Melodyne can do this please, several or only one please?

Thanks.
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2552
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by trevlyns » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:04 am

kr236rk wrote:Cool :) So which versions of Melodyne can do this please, several or only one please?

Thanks.
I have Melodyne Editor version 2 - got it in 2012. It certainly has the convert to MIDI feature but that version has been updated - I think they're on version 4 at the moment. And yes, as Mark says, the feature is not available in the version that comes with Pro Studio 8
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
kr236rk
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:54 pm

Re: Double Bass synth?

Post by kr236rk » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:07 pm

OK thanks guys ;)
Ric

M-Audio USB interface, MC7, Yamahas 102c analogue mixer, Windows 10 QuadCore [upgrade], USB EWI, Alesis Q25 Midi keyboard, stomp boxes, drum pads, guitars, dynamic mic, condenser mic

http://www.reverbnation.com/rickemper

http://www.rickemper.uk/

Post Reply