How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

ChimeraUK
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:26 pm

How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by ChimeraUK » Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:39 pm

Does anyone know if this is possible at all?

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Rolling Estonian » Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:44 pm

Right click on the track and select freeze track or control F.

If by bouncing you mean mixing single tracks down to wav, of course. Go to file and mix down to wav.

M

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6690
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Mark Bliss » Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:57 pm

Actually, there is no freeze function for sub-mixes, only for tracks. Unless I have been overlooking something.
But I haven't had the need to freeze a track in so long I could have overlooked something.

But, you can mix down a sub-mix to create a new stem if that's what you wish to do?
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Rolling Estonian » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:27 pm

Oops, didn't even see submix.
Attachments
original.jpg
original.jpg (77.29 KiB) Viewed 2619 times

aj113
Posts: 1383
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by aj113 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:08 am

ChimeraUK wrote:Does anyone know if this is possible at all?
Solo it, export as a wav, then re-import back to MC (Optional: then delete the original submix).

Edit: disable all two-bus inserts before exporting!

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20643
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:54 pm

Hi,

Or, hold down the shift key, click on the first track in the submix to select it, and then click on the last track, and then right-click to freeze.

This also works with bouncing, but you end up with multiple bounced tracks.

The ability to select multiple tracks is exclusive to Mixcraft 8.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

ChimeraUK
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2016 2:26 pm

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by ChimeraUK » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:24 pm

Thanks that's more or less what I was meaning. The ability to bounce several tracks directly to another single track without having to export to disk and then load back in...

jwnadal@gmail.com
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by jwnadal@gmail.com » Wed Oct 30, 2019 12:20 pm

I'm looking for a simple way to combine two (or more) audio tracks into one without saving them as wave files,importing them back into a new project then mixing down to one file and importing again. Following Greg's instructions on selecting tracks, right clicking and combining simply results in making multiple unmixed tracks. Maybe I'm missing something. To me bouncing means your making a new track with the contents of one or more other tracks. Can someone clarify.

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Anorax » Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:43 pm

jwnadal@gmail.com wrote:I'm looking for a simple way to combine two (or more) audio tracks into one without saving them as wave files,importing them back into a new project then mixing down to one file and importing again. Following Greg's instructions on selecting tracks, right clicking and combining simply results in making multiple unmixed tracks. Maybe I'm missing something. To me bouncing means your making a new track with the contents of one or more other tracks. Can someone clarify.
Mixcraft bounces tracks on a 1:1 ratio, so one input track to one output track. There is currently no trick to bounce multiple tracks to a single track without doing an export/import. From what I've seen with the MX9 beta, there's no fully-in-DAW method in that version, either.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20643
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Oct 30, 2019 6:44 pm

Hi,

You could solo two or more tracks and then mix down.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Glaw
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:19 pm

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Glaw » Thu Oct 31, 2019 2:09 pm

I use submixes all the time and I was wondering the same thing. Sometimes I end up inserting about 3-5 plugins in a submix (let's say drum bus) and since my computer is no that powerful, the system suffers. The only solution I found was exporting stems. Go to File > Mix Down To Stems..., click on "check none", then select the submix only and export it.

jwnadal@gmail.com
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:08 pm

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by jwnadal@gmail.com » Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:12 pm

Anorax wrote:
Wed Oct 30, 2019 5:43 pm
jwnadal@gmail.com wrote:I'm looking for a simple way to combine two (or more) audio tracks into one without saving them as wave files,importing them back into a new project then mixing down to one file and importing again. Following Greg's instructions on selecting tracks, right clicking and combining simply results in making multiple unmixed tracks. Maybe I'm missing something. To me bouncing means your making a new track with the contents of one or more other tracks. Can someone clarify.
Mixcraft bounces tracks on a 1:1 ratio, so one input track to one output track. There is currently no trick to bounce multiple tracks to a single track without doing an export/import. From what I've seen with the MX9 beta, there's no fully-in-DAW method in that version, either.
One approach I found to merge one or more tracks in a project is to put the selected tracks under a submix track, solo it, mix that down to a WAV file, and then load the resulting merged file back into the project in a new track and delete the selected tracks.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by jlouvar » Sun Dec 22, 2019 9:52 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:54 pm
The ability to select multiple tracks is exclusive to Mixcraft 8.
Bummer... Why not also Mixcraft 9 too?
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 458, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6690
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Dec 22, 2019 10:36 pm

Look at the dates Joe......
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1462
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: How to Bounce or Freeze Submixes......

Post by jlouvar » Sun Dec 22, 2019 10:55 pm

Oops... Thanks Mark. :oops:
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 458, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

Post Reply