Waves GTR3

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
Perdue
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:34 pm

Waves GTR3

Post by Perdue » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:45 pm

I've not seen much mention of Waves GTR3 being used in Mixcraft. Are there any satisfied users,
and will it work in 32 bit Mixcraft 8?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 19752
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:51 pm

Hi,

It should work just fine, but it looks like they don't offer a 32-bit version, so you'd have to install 64-bit Mixcraft to use it.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6545
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:59 pm

I use GTR3 occasionally. It seems amp sim preferences are somewhat dependent on preferred style or genre.

I like the user interface. Layout is logical and easy to use IMO.
Sound quality is quite usable, but as others have indicated, for some styles there may be somewhat superior sounding options. But perhaps not at this price point. Tastes and preferences vary.
Yes it is 64 Bit and a minimum of 8 Gigs of RAM is recommended. Amp sims can be heavy resource hogs, depending on your specific chain and usage.

The current price is a low risk buy. If funds are tight, you might consider the Solo version. Craig Anderton described it well when he said it was more like a "best of" version than a stripped down version. Its quite versatile and fun. $29 on sale seems like a no brainer if you are looking to explore amp sims.
Craig once offered a book and a set of custom presets for Solo, but they were all in other DAW's unfortunately. Kind of had to "fudge it"
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by BillW » Thu Dec 07, 2017 8:50 am

I use it with 32 bit MX. Maybe I have an older version?

I like it - for the price.

Also it has both VST and VST3 versions of each of the plugins.
Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

Image

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6545
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Mark Bliss » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:40 am

Your right Bill, now that I think about it, I have used it in 32 bit previously as well. I had forgotten that. Just tested it and yep- must have installed both. Hard to tell given the mess created by Waves installer. Stuffs everywhere.

Waves site is misleading on requirements then. But still, heavy use on multiple tracks with busy chains- might find the 64 bit advantage point.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
BillW
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:17 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by BillW » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:59 pm

You know, now that Ithink about it, I recall not being sure it would work with 32bit and figured I'd go to 64bit if that was the case.

My computer is pretty wimpy but MX works fine (see my signature) - though lately it choked when I tried to have two instances of EZD in it (one for drums - one for Latin percussion.) Workaround was doing drums first - then rendering to .wav, then percussion - but I digress...
Mixcraft 8 Pro (32bit) runs fine on a Toshiba Satellite C55-B laptop with a wimpy Celeron N2830 (dual core). Now using 64bit on a "less wimpy" Dell 660S/Dual Core Pentium/8GB RAM.

Image

Perdue
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Perdue » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:38 am

Thanks guys. Mixcraft is awesome. GTR3 is tempting at the sale price but I think I'll stick with Shred for
now.

Frantiac
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 12:11 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Frantiac » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:04 am

I've used Waves GTR Solo for years - love it. Don't be fooled by the low price (29 dollars last time I looked) - it's not a limited version of GTR3 but more of a "best of", as was mentioned earlier. As far as I'm concerned it's worth it for the Super Reverb ("Drive") alone. I had use of the full GTR3 for a while but found myself using GTR Solo every time. I've just WUP-ped to the latest version and it installs both 32 and 64-bit VST & VST3 automatically. I'm using the 32-bit version with Mixcraft 8.

This overlooked gem might interest you too: db-audioware's Flying Haggis, a great-sounding and economical all-rounder http://www.db-audioware.com/flying-haggis
ESI Maya 44e soundcard --> Intel G41M dual-core, 8 GB RAM --> Windows 10 Pro x64 --> Mixcraft 9 Pro (32-bit)

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6545
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:22 am

That's pretty cool for classic tones, I'll have to watch for a 64 bit release,

Its also worth mentioning for 64 bit users, the free custom shop version of Amplitube used to include enough to have some fun with experimenting. Haven't loaded a recent version, but I bet its still worth a look. Though it will tempt you to upgrade.....
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Waves GTR3

Post by Rolling Estonian » Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:29 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:That's pretty cool for classic tones, I'll have to watch for a 64 bit release,

Its also worth mentioning for 64 bit users, the free custom shop version of Amplitube used to include enough to have some fun with experimenting. Haven't loaded a recent version, but I bet its still worth a look. Though it will tempt you to upgrade.....
Once I got the Amplitube Fender package it was over. That's my go to right off the bat, nothing like that twin!

M

Post Reply