MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

FluxCobalt
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 3:54 am

MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:31 pm

I have several VSTi's from HG Fortune that are 32 bit. MixCraft Recognizes most of them and they work fine but some are not recognized at all. They all worked in SONAR Pro. Would anyone know what might be the problem?

Thanks for any help.

Flux

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:34 pm

Hi,

Which ones are not recognized? Which VST folder do you have the VST files in? Is that folder listed when you go into Preferences > Plug-Ins > Edit VST/VSTi Folders?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:44 pm

Here is an example:

VSTi folder named: AAA
Within the folder AAA I have the VSTi’s WXYZ

MixCraft 8 will recognize WXY but not Z. So I created a second folder BBB and put the VSTi Z in the BBB folder. So now I have two separate folders, folder AAA with WXY vsti and folder BBB with vsti Z. I rescanned the folders . Now MixCraft 8 recognizes VSTi WXZ and not Y. I did not remove any of them. This is very interesting.

Any Ideas?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:55 pm

Hi,

Please submit a support request and send in your mixcraft-log.txt file. Include the names of any plugins that you feel aren't loading properly, and we'll check it out.

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\
Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

JonInc
Posts: 519
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by JonInc » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:36 pm

Any of these VST folders happen to be under Program Files?

These are system folders, and any of the contents can suffer permission problems unless run with elevated privileges (Run as Administrator).

All the more likely if you're on Win 7/8.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:39 pm

A log file will probably show what's going on, but we'll need the specific names of some plugins that won't load.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:36 am

Here are two plugins that are in question. Both are by H.G. Fourtune.

STS 24 Pro and STS 26 Pro.

What happens is, both plugins are in the same folder at the same time. When I run Mixcraft 8, only STS 26 Pro loads. Now when I remove STS 26 Pro from the folder and leave STS 24 Pro and then rerun Mixcraft 8. STS 24 Pro loads. When both plugins are in the folder at the same time It's like STS 26 Pro overrides STS 24 Pro.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:45 am

HI,

Did you send in your log file?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:38 pm

Yes I did. I also noticed that another H.G. plugin does not load at all. I do have some problems with my Z3TA+2 VST 3. But most of my other plugins seam to work though.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:05 pm

Hi,

I can't find your log file. Did you use a different email address? Did you send it here?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Starship Krupa
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:05 am
Location: California

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Starship Krupa » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:28 pm

Placing my bet on duplicate VST ID's.

H G Fortune's plug-ins, while I have found them amazing, I have also found them to be prone to be sloppy about enforcing the system of unique VST ID's.
-Erik
___________
3.4 GHz i7-3770, 16G RAM, Win 10 64-bit, ATi Radeon HD 5770
2X PreSonus Firepods, Event 20/20's, Alesis Monitor Ones, Alesis Point Sevens
Mixcraft Pro Studio 8.5, Cakewalk by BandLab

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:30 pm

I sent another log file.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:23 pm

FluxCobalt23 wrote:I sent another log file.
Hi,

I see a ticket from you, but there's no log file attached.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:21 pm

I tried it again. I attached the mixcraft-log text doc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:29 pm

FluxCobalt23 wrote:I tried it again. I attached the mixcraft-log text doc.
Hi,

Thank you! I'll reply to your email.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply