MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Mon Dec 11, 2017 4:45 pm

I did a new log file.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:10 pm

Hi,

As Erik surmised, it looks like they have the same VST ID. If you like one better than the other, install that one.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FluxCobalt23
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:22 pm

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by FluxCobalt23 » Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:04 am

Well at least this issue is solved. I also looked at the log file and saw the duplicate ID numbers. The plugin that would not load at all had a duplicate ID as well. What seems strange is that they all load into SONAR Pro without any problems. I don’t know enough about this stuff to try and figure it but I’ll get over it. As of right now I prefer MixCraft 8 over SONAR Pro, for one big reason, in MixCraft 8 I do not have the latency issues that I have in SONAR Pro.

Thank you for the help Greg.

User avatar
Starship Krupa
Posts: 698
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:05 am
Location: California

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Starship Krupa » Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:38 pm

SONAR must have either another way of identifying plug-ins, or a secondary, fall-back method of differentiating when they have duplicate VST ID's.

Greg didn't go into full detail, but it's a fail on the part of the developer of the plug-ins. Steinberg has a webpage that readily issues unique ID's, and each VST is supposed to have one, but some developers seem to be unaware of this, or just ignore it.

The protocol is apparently that the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of one's VST are supposed to use the same ID, which is how programs such as Mixcraft can so seamlessly load projects in either 32 or 64 bit versions.

Other DAW's may handle it by parsing the name of the .DLL or .VST3 file or other means, but Mixcraft goes solely by the VST ID at this time. The only workaround is to look at the log file, find out which plug-ins are conflicting, and choose which one you like best.

I've pondered going at the .DLL's with a hex editor or something to try to change the VST ID string myself, but so far choosing my favorite has worked just fine.
-Erik
___________
3.4 GHz i7-3770, 16G RAM, Win 10 64-bit, ATi Radeon HD 5770
2X PreSonus Firepods, Event 20/20's, Alesis Monitor Ones, Alesis Point Sevens
Mixcraft Pro Studio 8.5, Cakewalk by BandLab

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 940
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: MixCraft 8 not recognizing some VSTi's

Post by Ian Craig » Fri Dec 15, 2017 7:10 pm

Starship Krupa wrote:SONAR must have either another way of identifying plug-ins, or a secondary, fall-back method of differentiating when they have duplicate VST ID's.

Greg didn't go into full detail, but it's a fail on the part of the developer of the plug-ins. Steinberg has a webpage that readily issues unique ID's, and each VST is supposed to have one, but some developers seem to be unaware of this, or just ignore it.

The protocol is apparently that the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of one's VST are supposed to use the same ID, which is how programs such as Mixcraft can so seamlessly load projects in either 32 or 64 bit versions.

Other DAW's may handle it by parsing the name of the .DLL or .VST3 file or other means, but Mixcraft goes solely by the VST ID at this time. The only workaround is to look at the log file, find out which plug-ins are conflicting, and choose which one you like best.

I've pondered going at the .DLL's with a hex editor or something to try to change the VST ID string myself, but so far choosing my favorite has worked just fine.
Great info. Nice one Erik :D
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (Audio Interface)

Post Reply