ACX Audio Submission Requirements for audiobooks with amazon

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

lpburke

ACX Audio Submission Requirements for audiobooks with amazon

Post by lpburke »

Hello! I am new to home recording. Just learning the ropes. One of the things I am wanting to do besides record my own music is record audio narration for my ebooks through ACX at Amazon.com. Each audio file must measure between -23dB and -18dB RMS and have -3dB peak values and a maximum -60dB noise floor. Must also be a 192kbps or higher MP3, Constant Bit Rate (CBR) at 44.1 kHz. Obviously, I need to set it up this way but not sure how to do it with Mixcraft 8. Can any help me out here? Thanks in advance for any help! --Linda :?
Mark Bliss

Re: ACX Audio Submission Requirements for audiobooks with amazon

Post by Mark Bliss »

Hi and welcome!

There's multiple methods Linda.
The first concern is related to the length of the audio files. For a song its only a minor hassle to have to play through the file for the purpose of analyzing the RMS and peak values. And I would be glad to assist and make some suggestions on that.
But for an audio book narration, that method is just not a reasonable solution.

I think what you are going to want to look into is an "offline" analyzer toolset that can more rapidly evaluate the levels. Unfortunately, my knowledge of them ends at the awareness of their existence......

Bottom line, there are dedicated tools for this purpose. Being a music guy and hobbyist, its outside of my area.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page
dakwatson

Post by dakwatson »

Hi, Linda,