Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
edude15000
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:20 pm

Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by edude15000 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:02 am

Hello, I have Mixcraft 8 Pro.
This issue randomly started a few weeks ago, and it is extremely annoying.
When I try to mix down (tried MP3 and WAV), it will load for 30+ minutes (sometimes I force close after an hour of loading).

I muted all of my effects and just tried to mix down a simple single bass track and it still does this.
This problem also occurs when closing Mixcraft, I usually have to force close the program because it will freeze for over an hour.

I never had this issue before until a few weeks ago. It shouldn't be my computer cause I have an i7-3770K and 24GB of ram and every other program runs smooth and fast.

I can attach my crash files but they are from last month (not recent). It will not let me upload the mixcraft log txt file here though.

Any idea on what would be causing this?

Thanks!

JonInc
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by JonInc » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:38 am

So this behavior is associated with certain projects? You don't get this just opening Mixcraft on its own (with nothing loaded)?

How are you opening these project files? Double-clicking on the file, or opening MC and choosing the project? If it's one, try the other.

Do any of these projects share the same effect? If so, remove the effect.

Try temporarily disabling your anti-virus.

edude15000
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by edude15000 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:48 am

I've tried both methods of opening the project files, but the issue still occurs.
It doesn't do this with a new project with a basic short track with no effects - it mixes down fine.
I have 4 projects which follow the same template (share all effects), each one has 4 songs each.
All of the effects are muted when mixing down, but it probably still mixes down as if they were there causing the problem.
I only use Windows Defender, but I can try temporarily disabling it.

I think I might have to manually remove effects until I figure out which one(s) is the culprit.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21122
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:14 am

Hi,

You're mixing down to a local hard drive, not an external drive or network drive?

You can submit an Acoustica Support Request to send us your log file. Make sure you get the problem to happen and then quit Mixcraft before you send the mixcraft-log.txt file.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

edude15000
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by edude15000 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:07 pm

Hi Greg, thanks for the reply.

I am mixing down to my local ssd.

I removed my master effects and tried mixing it down and I got a fatal error message.
I sent in a request ticket right now. Thanks.

edude15000
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by edude15000 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:30 pm

I think I narrowed the problem to the plugin 'TAL-Reverb-2-64'.
Removing this allowed me to mixdown properly without issue.

'CLA Vocals Stereo' seems to cause some issues too but very infrequently.

edude15000
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by edude15000 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 7:35 pm

Never mind. I spoke too soon, the issue is still occurring.

JonInc
Posts: 494
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: Mixdown takes 30+ minutes to start

Post by JonInc » Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:40 am

Check your Windows system log (in event viewer) to see if there are any errors indicating a failing hard drive.

https://www.howtogeek.com/123646/htg-ex ... an-use-it/

Post Reply