Firewire nightmare

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
MiltonRob
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:25 pm

Firewire nightmare

Post by MiltonRob » Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:32 pm

OK so I have a Dell laptop, Thunderbolt 3 port, Startech TB3 to TB2 adapter, Apple TB2 to Firewire adapter into either a Focusrite Saffire 40 or an UAD Apollo FW unit... Works like a charm...

I get a new loaded Alienware laptop, same chain, the mixer apps work perfectly, but for some reason Mixcraft is not receiving the audio... it freezes momentarily when I arm the track and then nothing... nothing coming in, if I press record, it won't... I know this a weird one... anybody seen anything like this?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:21 am

Hi,

Are you using ASIO mode?

Check and make sure that apps have permission to access your microphone. Windows Settings > Privacy > Microphone.

Image

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

MiltonRob
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:25 pm

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by MiltonRob » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:21 am

Ya it's ASIO mode and the Privacy settings are set correctly... I work in IT and I've checked all the usual suspects including changing the firewire driver to the legacy driver but all with the same result... It's so weird because the mixer apps work perfectly, but for some reason MC won't record our play audio out of the device... Even looked at the logs for hints but nothings...

JonInc
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by JonInc » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:21 am

Does Mixcraft work with the laptop's onboard sound card? (You could temporarily try the asio4all driver to test it out). If Mixcraft can't work at all, then that would suggest a corrupt install or maybe download.

MiltonRob
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 12:25 pm

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by MiltonRob » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:31 pm

Mixcraft works with the onboard and a little presonus usb interface I have just not with the firewire devices... it's definitely a weird issue with the firewire/asio stack..

shayneoneill
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 3:35 am

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by shayneoneill » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:15 am

Windows 10 and firewire just don't get on well I've found. I went through maybe 4-5 firewire cards till I found one that worked well with my Focusrite unit, but XP-windows 7 worked great. Apparently its pretty common across all hardware. Whats likely happening is your having issues with interupt latency thats causing the system to fill up and hustle data into and out of the buffers fast enough and it gets pauses that causes some software to just give up. Mixcraft and Sonar seem pretty much like this, whilst Ableton just has godawful pops.

I'd suggest looking for some apps "Why so slow" and "latencymon" and having a run through them and see if your laptop is doing something stupid.
Windows 10. Intel i7 quadcore something. 16gigs ram. assorted mech and SSD hard drives.
Focusrite liquid pre 56. 2x Golden age 73 pres. FMR Audio RNC compressor.
Tascam 38 tape, and Yamaha 8 track cassette portastudio like a boss.

JonInc
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:30 pm
Location: East of Santa Monica

Re: Firewire nightmare

Post by JonInc » Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:48 am

Does the laptop have an express card slot? If so, this will work with most FW devices:

https://www.amazon.com/SIIG-FireWire-Ex ... B001V9LQ7K

Post Reply