Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

CazaroTaro
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 6:29 am

Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by CazaroTaro » Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:33 am

I just updated to Mixcraft 8.1 version 415.

I have noticed that the GUIs of two VSTs have unwanted effects from this update. Please see the graphic below.

Both of the VSTs are AIR products, Hybrid and XPand!2. The addition of the sidechain window at the top, not seen in earlier versions of Mixcraft 8 for these instruments, pushes the GUI downwards in the window and hides items in the lower part of the window. For Hybrid, the bottom controls are partially visible and can still be used, but for XPand!2, the preset selection window is entirely hidden, and cannot be accessed, effectively making XPand!2 unusable.

Even more odd, if I close and then reopen the VST GUI, more and more of the bottom disappears each reopening.

Is there any way to suppress or make optional the sidechain window?


EDIT: On the off chance that any GUI with a sidechain window could be susceptible, I checked my compressors and found that the TDR Nova GUI shows the same problem. There may be others . . . . .
Attachments
Changed GUI.png
Changed GUI.png (812.81 KiB) Viewed 1778 times

eric71
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:42 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by eric71 » Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:44 am

I have just bought and installed Mixcraft, and I can confirm this is happening with another Air plugin, DB-33. The bottom (where presets are accessed) is cut off.

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1631
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Rolling Estonian » Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:46 pm

I can tell you that over the years I've had issues with different plugin gui getting messed up. It's usually a case of either them updating or your graphics card, with two people saying it, I'd venture to guess it's on their end.

M

FrankClau
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by FrankClau » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:40 pm

Same problem with Sampletank 3 and Garritan Personal Orchestra 5.
The GUI are cut.

FrankClau
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by FrankClau » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:46 pm

Captura de pantalla (10).png
Captura de pantalla (10).png (254.91 KiB) Viewed 1726 times

squeakie
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:30 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by squeakie » Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:53 pm

The only AIR product I can get to work in MC8 is Mini Grand. It won’t recognize Expand2, Velvet, DB, and I can’t get it to recognize Addictive Keys either. It’s like MC just decided no more VST’s for you.
Yamaha MOXF6, Roland Juno-Di, Casio MZX-500, Roland RS-70, M-Audio Venom, M-Audio Hammer-88, Casio PX-330, M-Audio Keystation 49 MK3, M-Audio Axiom Mini 32, Behringer Studio Monitors.

mick
Posts: 1498
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by mick » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:01 pm

All Air Music stuff works fine in MX7 and no GUI snips. The mini grand I didn't install cos' I have Sonivox 88 but I have used mini grand with no problems. I don't have a sidechain thingy so cannot comment regarding the bottom cut off on Xpand 2 and Hybrid 3.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6889
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Mark Bliss » Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:45 pm

The GUI issue wouldn't be apparent in v7 since it has no side chain functionality right?
It appears that as sometimes happens, a change in the program code intended to fix one problem, caused a new problem.
As far as I can tell, increasing one space effectively cut another. I suspect it will be corrected shortly. Another work week cometh with the sunrise. 8)
(Bug logged :wink: )

Squeekie's issue is unrelated, but appears to be installation/authorization related.
Last edited by Mark Bliss on Mon Dec 03, 2018 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
dpaterson
Posts: 560
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:33 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by dpaterson » Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:28 pm

Hmmmnnn...

Glad I checked in here this morning!!!

I had the same issue with some Melda plugins yesterday but I thought it was Melda because there was a Melda update late last week which I installed but didn't check or test until yesterday.

Apparently not Melda.

Regards,

Dale.

P.S.

For what it's worth: as a test I "downdated" to 413 and no problem at all with Melda's stuff so it ain't Melda.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21217
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:20 pm

Hi,

We'll be fixing this GUI issue with sidechaining plugins.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

FrankClau
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:52 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by FrankClau » Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:55 am

hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21217
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:47 am

FrankClau wrote:hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon
Hi,

We should have something for you to try soon.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21217
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:00 am

FrankClau wrote:hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon
Hi,

We tested Aria here with build 415 and it's working fine for us. Aria doesn't even have a sidechain option, so it wouldn't be the same issue in any case. Please get the problem to happen again, then quit Mixcraft and send us your Mixcraft-log.txt file.

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\
Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
dpaterson
Posts: 560
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 1:33 am

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by dpaterson » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:43 am

Hi.

Just by the way:

Further to my first post above on this topic this is what happens with some of the Melda plugins i.e. the bottoms are chopped off. As noted: this doesn't happen with Build 413 as tested yesterday. Just posting as I'm hoping that whatever fix is being worked on is related:
Melda 1.JPG
Melda 1.JPG (92.23 KiB) Viewed 1536 times
Regards,

Dale.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21217
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:45 am

Hi,

Yes, this is fixed in the next update, which we haven't released yet. We're waiting a bit to see if there's anything else that needs fixing.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply