Page 1 of 3

Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 7:33 am
by CazaroTaro
I just updated to Mixcraft 8.1 version 415.

I have noticed that the GUIs of two VSTs have unwanted effects from this update. Please see the graphic below.

Both of the VSTs are AIR products, Hybrid and XPand!2. The addition of the sidechain window at the top, not seen in earlier versions of Mixcraft 8 for these instruments, pushes the GUI downwards in the window and hides items in the lower part of the window. For Hybrid, the bottom controls are partially visible and can still be used, but for XPand!2, the preset selection window is entirely hidden, and cannot be accessed, effectively making XPand!2 unusable.

Even more odd, if I close and then reopen the VST GUI, more and more of the bottom disappears each reopening.

Is there any way to suppress or make optional the sidechain window?


EDIT: On the off chance that any GUI with a sidechain window could be susceptible, I checked my compressors and found that the TDR Nova GUI shows the same problem. There may be others . . . . .

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 10:44 am
by eric71
I have just bought and installed Mixcraft, and I can confirm this is happening with another Air plugin, DB-33. The bottom (where presets are accessed) is cut off.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:46 pm
by Rolling Estonian
I can tell you that over the years I've had issues with different plugin gui getting messed up. It's usually a case of either them updating or your graphics card, with two people saying it, I'd venture to guess it's on their end.

M

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:40 pm
by FrankClau
Same problem with Sampletank 3 and Garritan Personal Orchestra 5.
The GUI are cut.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:46 pm
by FrankClau
Captura de pantalla (10).png
Captura de pantalla (10).png (254.91 KiB) Viewed 1826 times

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 2:53 pm
by squeakie
The only AIR product I can get to work in MC8 is Mini Grand. It won’t recognize Expand2, Velvet, DB, and I can’t get it to recognize Addictive Keys either. It’s like MC just decided no more VST’s for you.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:01 pm
by mick
All Air Music stuff works fine in MX7 and no GUI snips. The mini grand I didn't install cos' I have Sonivox 88 but I have used mini grand with no problems. I don't have a sidechain thingy so cannot comment regarding the bottom cut off on Xpand 2 and Hybrid 3.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:45 pm
by Mark Bliss
The GUI issue wouldn't be apparent in v7 since it has no side chain functionality right?
It appears that as sometimes happens, a change in the program code intended to fix one problem, caused a new problem.
As far as I can tell, increasing one space effectively cut another. I suspect it will be corrected shortly. Another work week cometh with the sunrise. 8)
(Bug logged :wink: )

Squeekie's issue is unrelated, but appears to be installation/authorization related.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Sun Dec 02, 2018 11:28 pm
by dpaterson
Hmmmnnn...

Glad I checked in here this morning!!!

I had the same issue with some Melda plugins yesterday but I thought it was Melda because there was a Melda update late last week which I installed but didn't check or test until yesterday.

Apparently not Melda.

Regards,

Dale.

P.S.

For what it's worth: as a test I "downdated" to 413 and no problem at all with Melda's stuff so it ain't Melda.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2018 12:20 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

We'll be fixing this GUI issue with sidechaining plugins.

Greg

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:55 am
by FrankClau
hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 9:47 am
by Acoustica Greg
FrankClau wrote:hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon
Hi,

We should have something for you to try soon.

Greg

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:00 am
by Acoustica Greg
FrankClau wrote:hi greg:
Thanks for the previous message.
What do you suggest us to do to continue working?
I hope the update with the corrections comes out soon
Hi,

We tested Aria here with build 415 and it's working fine for us. Aria doesn't even have a sidechain option, so it wouldn't be the same issue in any case. Please get the problem to happen again, then quit Mixcraft and send us your Mixcraft-log.txt file.

To find the mixcraft-log file, highlight the following line and press Ctrl+C to copy it:

Code: Select all

%appdata%\Acoustica\Mixcraft\
Press the Windows Key+R to pop up the Run box in Windows. Click in the Run box and press Ctrl+V to paste in the line from above. Finally, click OK to go to the location of the mixcraft-log.txt file. Submit an Acoustica Support Request and attach the log file along with a brief description of the problem.

Greg

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:43 am
by dpaterson
Hi.

Just by the way:

Further to my first post above on this topic this is what happens with some of the Melda plugins i.e. the bottoms are chopped off. As noted: this doesn't happen with Build 413 as tested yesterday. Just posting as I'm hoping that whatever fix is being worked on is related:
Melda 1.JPG
Melda 1.JPG (92.23 KiB) Viewed 1636 times
Regards,

Dale.

Re: Potential problem with instrument GUIs in version 415

Posted: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:45 am
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Yes, this is fixed in the next update, which we haven't released yet. We're waiting a bit to see if there's anything else that needs fixing.

Greg