[Solved] Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
creativeforge
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

[Solved] Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by creativeforge » Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:05 am

Hi all,

On Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio (64-bit).

1- I'd like to NOT load Melodyne on start-up, I may use it in the future, but I'm basically never recording vocals. I notice it slows down the load up.

I disabled Melodyne it within the Manage Plugin-ins, and unchecked Load VST effects and Instruments, but it's still loading.

So what is the secret? How do I remove it?

2- the splash screen at the start - I would prefer a different splash screen. I'd like to either remove it or replace it with an image of my own. How/where do I do that?

3- Is there a way to enlarge the GUI's buttons in the left pane?

Thanks!

Andre
Last edited by creativeforge on Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20623
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:55 pm

Hi,

1. You could go into your Windows Apps settings and uninstall the two Melodyne apps.

2. There's a splash.png file in the mixrez folder inside your Acoustica Mixcraft 8 folder. Change it at your own risk, and it might get overridden the next time you update.

3. Do you mean mute, solo, fx and so on? No, there's not an option to enlarge them.


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

creativeforge
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by creativeforge » Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:34 pm

Thank you Greg! That worked very well. :) Melodyne gone, and splash screen customized to my liking. As for the buttons, I'll be OK.

One more question I'm trying to figure out.

Let's say I want to introduce a short guitar solo in the middle of the song I'm working on. At the moment, when I stop recording my solo bars, the cursor remains where the recording stopped. I'd rather have it rewind automatically to the beginning of that overdub, for workflow speed.

So how can I have the cursor rewind automatically to the entry point of that recording?

Thanks!

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20623
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:39 pm

Hi,

That's in Interface preferences. Look for the "Auto-Rewind..." option.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by Thomas » Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:55 pm

On my PC I can change the scaling by changing the high DPI scaling override.
When I had it set to system, Mixcraft was scaled up. Set to application and it scaled smaller with room for more tracks, etc. Your system may or may not respond the same way, but it's worth a try.
Scaling.jpg
Scaling.jpg (74.24 KiB) Viewed 941 times
-Tom
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM? HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

creativeforge
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by creativeforge » Sat Dec 15, 2018 2:16 pm

Thomas wrote:On my PC I can change the scaling by changing the high DPI scaling override.
When I had it set to system, Mixcraft was scaled up. Set to application and it scaled smaller with room for more tracks, etc. Your system may or may not respond the same way, but it's worth a try.
Scaling.jpg
Thank you Thomas, where exactly do you find that screen?

sjoens
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 3:24 am

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by sjoens » Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:16 pm

To find that screen:
1. Right click the mixcraft.exe file and choose Properties
2. Choose Compatibility
3. Choose Change high DPI settings

Option 2: Right click your desktop, choose Display settings and adjust the Scale and layout settings. This affects the entire screen tho.

Option 3: You can resize the button's graphic file in the Mixrez folder (at your own risk) with Photoshop. The button text is set in the Languages/English/mixstrings.ini file. Text cannot be resized but can be deleted and added to your new graphic (at your own risk).

ie: Change "track-but-small-solo=S" to "track-but-small-solo="

Always save a backup of any files you edit.
Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio, Alienware laptop, Windows 10 64 bit, Behringer UFX1204USB mixer/interface.

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by Thomas » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:52 pm

@creativeforge: what sjoens said-
To find that screen:
1. Right click the mixcraft.exe file and choose Properties
2. Choose Compatibility
3. Choose Change high DPI settings

Option 2: Right click your desktop, choose Display settings and adjust the Scale and layout settings. This affects the entire screen tho.

Option 3: You can resize the button's graphic file in the Mixrez folder (at your own risk) with Photoshop. The button text is set in the Languages/English/mixstrings.ini file. Text cannot be resized but can be deleted and added to your new graphic (at your own risk).

ie: Change "track-but-small-solo=S" to "track-but-small-solo="

Always save a backup of any files you edit.
-Tom
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM? HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

creativeforge
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by creativeforge » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:47 am

sjoens wrote:To find that screen:
1. Right click the mixcraft.exe file and choose Properties
2. Choose Compatibility
3. Choose Change high DPI settings

Option 2: Right click your desktop, choose Display settings and adjust the Scale and layout settings. This affects the entire screen tho.

Option 3: You can resize the button's graphic file in the Mixrez folder (at your own risk) with Photoshop. The button text is set in the Languages/English/mixstrings.ini file. Text cannot be resized but can be deleted and added to your new graphic (at your own risk).

ie: Change "track-but-small-solo=S" to "track-but-small-solo="

Always save a backup of any files you edit.
THANK YOU sjoens!! :) That is most helpful, if not daunting... ;)

creativeforge
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:56 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by creativeforge » Sun Dec 16, 2018 11:48 am

Thomas wrote:@creativeforge: what sjoens said-
To find that screen:
1. Right click the mixcraft.exe file and choose Properties
2. Choose Compatibility
3. Choose Change high DPI settings

Option 2: Right click your desktop, choose Display settings and adjust the Scale and layout settings. This affects the entire screen tho.

Option 3: You can resize the button's graphic file in the Mixrez folder (at your own risk) with Photoshop. The button text is set in the Languages/English/mixstrings.ini file. Text cannot be resized but can be deleted and added to your new graphic (at your own risk).

ie: Change "track-but-small-solo=S" to "track-but-small-solo="

Always save a backup of any files you edit.
Thanks for the confirmation, Thomas! 8)

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Customizing workflow - skin, start-up, etc.

Post by Thomas » Sun Dec 16, 2018 1:03 pm

creativeforge wrote:Thanks for the confirmation, Thomas! 8)
You're welcome. Hope it works the way you like. :)
-Tom
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram 7200RPM? HDD
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

Post Reply