Using Mixcraft to reamp a Zoom G5n signal

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
User avatar
FancyGoose
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:32 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Using Mixcraft to reamp a Zoom G5n signal

Post by FancyGoose » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:54 am

Hello,

This post is not 100 % directly related to Mixcraft, but still I would appreciate your input.

I would like to use my Zoom G5n multieffects unit to record tracks dry in Mixcraft, and do some reamping afterwards using the same device. The G5n is a USB audio interface which Mixcraft can "see"... is this even possible?

I'm thinking of recording a dry track in Mixcraft (using the G5n USB inputs 1 and 2), and during playback, perhaps route the output of this track back into the Zoom G5n via Mixcraft? (I'm not sure it has INs as well as OUTs though). Maybe route the output of the Zoom G5n into a channel strip of my L-12 (which also is a USB interface).

Thanks!
FancyGoose

Mixcraft 8.1 Pro Studio
Arturia Keylab 61 Essential
EZDrummer2 w/Blues and Rock! EZX expansions
Amplitube 4 MAX
Zoom Livetrak L-12
Zoom G5n

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Using Mixcraft to reamp a Zoom G5n signal

Post by Rolling Estonian » Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:00 pm

If the Zoom has an audio out then just go with that. You could kind of cut out the middle man and get a DI box so you can record direct and mic an amp with effects.

M

User avatar
FancyGoose
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:32 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

Re: Using Mixcraft to reamp a Zoom G5n signal

Post by FancyGoose » Fri Dec 28, 2018 8:20 am

Hi Rolling,

The G5n acts as a USB audio interface, so it does have audio outs...

What i'm trying to do is to get the dry track "out" of Mixcraft and back into the G5n so I can play with knobs and change the sound on the fly during playback, to adjust gain, reverb, etc. and then record the final result once again in Mixcraft.

Gotta experiment some more... thank God for holidays :?
FancyGoose

Mixcraft 8.1 Pro Studio
Arturia Keylab 61 Essential
EZDrummer2 w/Blues and Rock! EZX expansions
Amplitube 4 MAX
Zoom Livetrak L-12
Zoom G5n

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1341
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Using Mixcraft to reamp a Zoom G5n signal

Post by Rolling Estonian » Fri Dec 28, 2018 9:20 am

Once you've recorded a dry track, you can add anything you want to it, then take some away and add more. It's not ever really final until you've mixed all your tracks together, master them and render it down to one file. What you can do to a track is limitless, that's why digital is so great. Bit of advice, get the absolute best track you can record, it all starts there and a poor recording can only be cleaned up so much, so get it the best you can before adding anything.

Reamping is just taking the out, through the effects and amp and back to MC through mic. Reamping is cool but Sims now are really good, I'd just use a DI, best of both. Not a metal guy but found this.

http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/thre ... ct.967793/

M

Post Reply