Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
blairjahearn
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:16 am

Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by blairjahearn » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:22 am

Help! I am new to computer based recording. I think I have set everything up correctly. However, when I attempt to record my keyboard, the signal is being received to the software but it is not recording AND the record button is stuck on. I would love to have one person who would be willing to coach me on the process. Thanks

geobee
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2012 12:27 am
Location: Australia

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by geobee » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:39 pm

Hi there, which DAW are you using, I assume it is Mixcraft, but which version. Could be a number of reasons, but some more info would make it easier for someone to guide you with it. The record should not be illuminated until you click on it, something not right with that. Do you have the most recent version of Mixcraft, with the current build?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20888
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:43 pm

Hi,

Try going into your Acoustica Mixcraft 8 folder and running the file called "Reset Audio to Factory Defaults."

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

ArcticHazzard
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by ArcticHazzard » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:30 am

I am having this same problem. Running Mixcraft 8.1 32 bit build 418. Recording with a Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD. I plug in the guitar and can hear it, select what track to record on, it is red, live and ready to go, see the sound on the track, everything looks good, hit record...…………. and it does not record, nothing happens. Track is locked up, not able to un-arm it, hitting stop or anything does not do anything. I can click and use everything else but the play/record/stop bar remains locked up and nothing happens. I have used Mixcraft before, probably bought it five times over the years just to play around with but I always used a line 6 UX1, first time I am using the Behriger. Any ideas?

ArcticHazzard
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by ArcticHazzard » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:32 am

I did try the Reset Audio to Factory defaults, no change. It just locks up until I finally close the program.

blairjahearn
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:16 am

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by blairjahearn » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:53 am

I am also running the Mixcraft 8.1 64 bit with the Behringer U-Phoria UMC404HD. I'll try the reset. Thanks

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20888
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:56 am

Hi,

Make sure that the Behringer device is connected properly and recognized by Windows before you launch Mixcraft.

Start up Mixcraft and see if you can get into Sound Device preferences (before you try to play any sound or anything). If you can, check your Playback Device setting.

Also, make sure you have downloaded and installed the latest driver from Behringer's download page for that device.


Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

ArcticHazzard
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:19 am

Re: Newbie, not recording, record button stuck

Post by ArcticHazzard » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:06 pm

I figured out my problem. Under preferences I was using Core Audio, I thought I read somewhere that is what I should be using. I changed it to ASIO and it works. All set. Thank you for your quick replies to my questions. Have a good day.

Post Reply