impulse response

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
hpharley90
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:07 pm

impulse response

Post by hpharley90 » Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:25 pm

Is it possible to use impulse responses in studio pro 8?

And if so how?

I just purchased the Suhr Reactive load impulse response and it can only do a 20.5ms length response.
If I want to use a longer response I need to do it in my DAW.
thanks

hpharley90
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: impulse response

Post by hpharley90 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:48 am

No response for impulse responses?

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: impulse response

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:24 am

Not much depth to my experience, sorry. But I have some minimal exposure.
Two different applications. Specifically PRS guitar amp emulation from Waves, and an IR reverb.
(Speaker cabs In the former, spaces in the latter)
In both cases they appear to have a proprietary data folder in which you can store IR's that you can load from a menu option within the plug-in. And in both cases you can add more IR's from third party sources. They appear to recognize a specific file type.
Then there's the steps to record your own impulses, but I never got that deep into it. I suspected it was one of those ultra geek side-tracking time sucks....
Not that there's anything wrong with that, if that's your thing. I just have to be aware so as to avoid the result of getting NOTHING done on my intended goals.

*But... Having seen a clip where Sylvia Massey records within an empty abandoned nuclear cooling tower and captures an impulse, I can see where this could be quite interesting.
I have seen sources of responses from all sorts of spaces. From famous halls and theaters to all sort of odd locations.
Something cool happens in vertical shafts though..... 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

hpharley90
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: impulse response

Post by hpharley90 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:17 am

Mark Bliss wrote:Not much depth to my experience, sorry. But I have some minimal exposure.
Two different applications. Specifically PRS guitar amp emulation from Waves, and an IR reverb.
(Speaker cabs In the former, spaces in the latter)
In both cases they appear to have a proprietary data folder in which you can store IR's that you can load from a menu option within the plug-in. And in both cases you can add more IR's from third party sources. They appear to recognize a specific file type.
Then there's the steps to record your own impulses, but I never got that deep into it. I suspected it was one of those ultra geek side-tracking time sucks....
Not that there's anything wrong with that, if that's your thing. I just have to be aware so as to avoid the result of getting NOTHING done on my intended goals.

*But... Having seen a clip where Sylvia Massey records within an empty abandoned nuclear cooling tower and captures an impulse, I can see where this could be quite interesting.
I have seen sources of responses from all sorts of spaces. From famous halls and theaters to all sort of odd locations.
Something cool happens in vertical shafts though..... 8)
I want to try the longer 200ms and 500ms from Ownhammer. Or Celestion. Im not interested in making my own.

I want to use purchased ones in the DAW.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: impulse response

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:34 am

Ok. I'm not sure I understand the question, but I think it relies on the specific plug-in application that incorporates or utilizes the IR's, regardless of the DAW.

I could be wrong, but I am not aware of any DAW that utilizes IR's in a native fashion. Perhaps one/some of the DAW's popular amongst the electronic artists? Dunno.
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

hpharley90
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2015 3:07 pm

Re: impulse response

Post by hpharley90 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:04 am

yes that sounds correct. a plug in to be able to use ir's in any DAW. that's what im looking for. it doesn't seem like anyone here uses them

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3452
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: impulse response

Post by outteh » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:22 am

Is this kind of what your looking for?

https://lancasteraudio.com/pulse/

I have seen reverb VST’s with impulse response but not much else. :D

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: impulse response

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:11 pm

Yeah, Lancaster is a top source for IR's, but not knowing more about what you are looking to do kind of impedes giving any advise.
Reverb impulses are cool, but with a handful of quality verbs, going the impulse route just seems a bit "busy" for my needs.
The use of cabinet impulses in the previously mentioned PRS amp emulation however adds a lot of range to the product. Pretty cool stuff!
I might get deeper into that at some point. When I "grow up" or something. 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3452
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: impulse response

Post by outteh » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:44 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:Yeah, Lancaster is a top source for IR's, but not knowing more about what you are looking to do kind of impedes giving any advise.
Reverb impulses are cool, but with a handful of quality verbs, going the impulse route just seems a bit "busy" for my needs.
The use of cabinet impulses in the previously mentioned PRS amp emulation however adds a lot of range to the product. Pretty cool stuff!
I might get deeper into that at some point. When I "grow up" or something. 8)
The impulse loader is free ( as are many other loaders ). Found some free guitar cabinet impulses, works pretty good, nice sounds! The Suhr Reactive Load is a hardware device. Not sure what needs to be done! :D

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6547
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: impulse response

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:23 pm

Yeah exactly. Never heard of it personally. But that means nothing. 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

Image

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Ian Craig
Posts: 847
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:15 pm
Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
Contact:

Re: impulse response

Post by Ian Craig » Sat Apr 13, 2019 10:42 pm

I use them in MeldaProductions MConvolutionMB, but it is not free. Voxengo do a free cab simulator (that is excellent) which allows you to select Impulse Responses but I can't remember if you can load your own. Just do a google search for variations of 'hosts impulse responses' or some term that you can think might work.
...
Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio Build 436 (64bit)
AMD Ryzen 8 Core 3.0 GHz,
2TB SSD etc, 40GB RAM,
Windows 10 Professional
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 (1st Gen, USB2).

Post Reply