Page 1 of 1

Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 3:42 am
by herodotas
Hi, I want split my VSTi bassline to 3 tracks: LOW , MID and TREBLE for further separate processing( common technique these days) , but I cant! Or I dont know how?

P.S. Mix to track and dublicate functions not suitable.

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:47 am
by GovernmentMule
If I understand you correctly, you have a midi track with a bassline and want to move the lower notes to a new midi track and the same for the mid-range notes and higher(treble) notes? If so, go into the piano roll editor and select/ lasso the notes you want on a new track, for instance the lower notes, and copy them and select a new midi track and paste them to the new track. Then do the same for the other two. Or you could duplicate the bassline track three times and go in and select the notes and delete/erase the notes you do not want on that track.

Some DAWS have a split function to do something like this but Mixcraft does not at this time. I believe I made a suggestion for something like this a long time ago.

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:07 am
by herodotas
No, I want to keep all my notes in one MIDI track, but want to separate output in 3 frequencies ranges: lows, mids, trebles.

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:42 am
by GovernmentMule
OK, where are you going to send these three outputs(frequency bands) to for processing? The only way I know to do something like this with what is included in mixcraft is to duplicate the track and then put a low-pass filter on one and a high -pass filter, etc with an EQ or filter. And then you could process each one seperate.

There are plugins that do this such as the Blue Cat Audio plugin.

https://www.bluecataudio.com/Products/Product_MB7Mixer/

Maybe someone else on the forum has some other idea, I have never tried to do something like this.

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:30 am
by herodotas
I find how to route one midi track to 3 other, but will be better if I can route plugin output to audio tracks. Now I need use 3 instances of plugin for that > 3 times more CPU used.

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:34 pm
by Mark Bliss
herodotas wrote:Hi, I want split my VSTi bassline to 3 tracks: LOW , MID and TREBLE for further separate processing( common technique these days) , but I cant! Or I dont know how?
Apparently, not that common.....
Perhaps if you gave better details on what you are wanting to do, or referred to an example, or something......

Re: Routing to another track

Posted: Fri Aug 30, 2019 2:55 pm
by Rolling Estonian
Copy and paste two additional tracks, mix as desired.

M