Setting master volume????

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

w1av

Setting master volume????

Post by w1av »

I read somewhere about setting your MASTER TRACK (vol) to -6db for final mastering/mix and adjust accordingly. I dont understand this. It was for "headroom" but didnt go into detail. Since I have been using Mixcraft for the last 12 years I have NEVER touched the master volume. So just for kicks I opened a recent finished project in Mixcraft, turned the main volume fader down to -6db. On the Master effects track all I use is the mid-side harmonic vitalizer (set to default) and the Izotope mastering essentials (set for jazz). What I noticed was the music seemed overly compressed which makes no sense. I use effects VERY sparingly. I do mostly jazzy stuff using Pianissimo, a real electric bass, or MIDI acoustic bass, nylon string guitar and either a drum track or the drum plugins in Mixcraft. I don't play anything loud....mostly easy listening. So is it necessary to fool with master volume?
Mark Bliss

Re: Setting master volume????

Post by Mark Bliss »

People do many different things. For me, the basic answer is no. 8)
I suggest starting here for mixing purposes:

https://forums.acoustica.com/bbs/viewto ... 80#p126274
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page
jlouvar

Post by jlouvar »

So is it necessary to fool with master volume?
FWIW: My answer is also NO.
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.
Reverbnation: https://www.reverbnation.com/joelouvar
Mark Bliss

Post by Mark Bliss »

There are perhaps many things to consider.

You could feasibly use the master fader to boost or attenuate the output for mixdown.
But if you are inclined to be accurate, and meter.... Any metering plug-in would be pre fader, so to be accurate, it would be best to set levels before any final metering.