DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1452
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by jlouvar » Tue Oct 15, 2019 11:06 am

FWIW: I don't have any WAVES plugins... But here in CA we have nice waves at the beach, lol. :lol:
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

Anorax
Posts: 1081
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by Anorax » Tue Oct 15, 2019 1:07 pm

Mark Bliss wrote: Or asked a question?
...fair point.

That said, I noticed in the bug tracker that the Waves team has contacted Acoustica previously about some plugins not working right, so it's definitely something that both teams are aware of. At least that confirms why Mixcraft isn't listed in the compatibility list.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6687
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by Mark Bliss » Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:10 pm

Yes and.....

It wasnt that long ago that unless you were using Pro Tools, Waves support wasnt much help. I remember being totally blown off on some early requests.
Not supported, tough luck, cant help. (Mostly installation issues BTW)

Then a few years ago they added a few other popular hosts to the "supported" list, and there were signs of more cooperation. I remember there being maybe three. I contacted support several times and refused to mention the host, using instead simply "unsupported host" in my communications. Oddly enough they seemed to pay more attention and put more effort into helping me.

The last time I contacted support, they offered to link up to my computer and "have a look" which required the installation of a small app and away we go.
It was really odd to watch, someone exploring my filing system remotely.
But installation confirmed, this should work. (Key tip, based on my experience-dont mess with the waveshell installation. Meaning dont move stuff around.)
So now theres a long list of "supported" hosts. What does that mean? Maybe that the support staff is more well versed in making things work in those hosts. Which is a good thing.
It would be easy to interpret that it means their plug-ins install and work without issue in all those hosts. :lol: Color me skeptical, at minimum. 8)

IMO and as far as I know, there are three primary issues at play here-

1: Installation issues. I have had a few occasions where the plug-in installation just didnt seem to be recognized. Its fiddly. Sometimes rebooting the computer was the final solution and suddenly they are there. I dont know. It can be frustrating and I certainly think there must be a simpler way. But on the other hand, I have to point out I have had install issues with plenty of other brands too....
2: Some plug-ins seem to require routing functions that Mixcraft simply wasnt designed for. I suspect that demand will cause evolution? But this takes time, and different developers come from different angles. Some, for example seem to have specialized in routing flexibility from an early stage. Others seem to have targeted other aspects altogether. Neither is wrong they just target a different audience IMO.
3:VST3 compatability. Some plug in coding is suspect. Some hosts seem to have it more figured out than others. Some are evolving.
Other than stuff like the embedding of Melodyne, I have yet to see too much missing by avoiding the VST3 versions. So I use what works for me.
But yeah, more evolving.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

heks
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by heks » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:53 am

Strangely enough I had a project that would not open last night and it was Waves AR TG Mastering plugin that was identified as the culprit, with Mixcraft saying something about it being muted. I just opened Waves Central moved everything to the cloud and then back to my Pc and all is well again. Strange I've had no problems with Waves stuff for quite a while and then problems with Mixcraft and Waves were mentioned , , , low and behold a problem... I think I may need a priest to exorcise something in my Pc :shock: :lol:

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6687
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:20 pm

I occasionally get that with many plug-ins, including the ones native to Mixcraft. Dont know the cause.
99% of the time I reload the project and it works fine. Odd, yes.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

heks
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2018 4:05 pm

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by heks » Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:02 am

Mark Bliss wrote:I occasionally get that with many plug-ins, including the ones native to Mixcraft. Dont know the cause.
99% of the time I reload the project and it works fine. Odd, yes.
I reloaded a couple of times and it still said something like "AR TG muted". While its in my mind (getting old and forget what I last thought was, I thought should remember) is there a "safe boot" for Mixcraft where plugins can be safely removed/ changed so the work is not lost?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20637
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:11 am

heks wrote:
Mark Bliss wrote:I occasionally get that with many plug-ins, including the ones native to Mixcraft. Dont know the cause.
99% of the time I reload the project and it works fine. Odd, yes.
I reloaded a couple of times and it still said something like "AR TG muted". While its in my mind (getting old and forget what I last thought was, I thought should remember) is there a "safe boot" for Mixcraft where plugins can be safely removed/ changed so the work is not lost?
HI,

You can open up Mixcraft without that project, click on the File menu and select "Manage Plug-Ins," then un-check any plugins that you want Mixcraft to ignore.

And once again, if that is the VST3 version of the plugin, try the VST version instead.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6687
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: DAWS supported by WAVES plugins

Post by Mark Bliss » Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:24 am

.

^This.

But....
On occasion I load a project that has been working fine for hours previously, and upon opening I get the fault:

"plug-in xyz (or a list of them) has failed to load, save your project and exit so you dont lose your work" (ok, something like that anyway!)

But I never do that. I may be wrong but in my mind I would now be saving the project without that plug-in loaded, and dont want that. So I have found that nearly every time, if I simply close Mixcraft without saving any changes, upon reloading the project it works with the previously failing plug-in just fine.
Its not a frequent thing, just one of those oddities.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply