"Testing" metronome speed?

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
FancyGoose
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:32 am
Location: Quebec City, Canada

"Testing" metronome speed?

Post by FancyGoose » Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:41 pm

Hello guys,

Happy new year to all of you musicians using Mixcraft, the DAW for musicians! ;-)

I was wondering if it was possible to listen to the metronome to test the correct BPM you wish to use for a song, without using the play/record transport button to listen to the click and see if it works for your project.

It there a way to test the metronome speed (listening to the actual clicks) in some way?

Thanks!
FancyGoose

Hobbyist here using Mixcraft 9 Pro Studio with an Arturia Keylab 61 Essential MIDI controller and a Zoom Livetrak L-12 mixer (also the USB interface). I also enjoy EZ Drummer 2 and Amplitube 4.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1719
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: "Testing" metronome speed?

Post by jlouvar » Wed Jan 01, 2020 12:49 pm

You can play a blank looped track with the metronome... That's how I do it.

EDIT: For example... Arm an audio track and hit the record button and let the track record for a measure, but don't record any audio to the track. Then unarm the track, put a check in the metronome Playback box so the metronome plays during playback and loop the track, then hit play and adjust the metronome tempo up or down as needed.
Last edited by jlouvar on Wed Jan 01, 2020 10:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.
Reverbnation: https://www.reverbnation.com/joelouvar

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2613
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: "Testing" metronome speed?

Post by trevlyns » Wed Jan 01, 2020 2:37 pm

You may also find this site useful Just tap the spacebar for BPM's http://www.all8.com/tools/bpm.htm
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6892
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: "Testing" metronome speed?

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Jan 01, 2020 3:17 pm

Another method:
Make a simple drum loop. Alternating side stick and snare on the quarter notes for example.
Adjust tempo and play along to determine your desired recording tempo.

At least I think that was the question?
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply