MIDI Transport Control

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Post Reply
User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2477
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

MIDI Transport Control

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:52 am

So after watching the video, I set up a dummy 8 track project and assigned all the faders, pans and transport.
Thing is, it works only on that dummy project! Nothing in my other projects.
Surely this is not set up on a per project basis - or am I missing something here? :?
EDIT: This works on all my MX 8 projects, but none of the MX9
EDIT 2: Will work on NEW MX9 projects, but not existing ones.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by jlouvar » Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:28 am

Following thread.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20402
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by Acoustica Greg » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:01 pm

jlouvar wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 9:28 am
Following thread.
Me, too!
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20402
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by Acoustica Greg » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:02 pm

trevlyns wrote:
Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:52 am
So after watching the video, I set up a dummy 8 track project and assigned all the faders, pans and transport.
Thing is, it works only on that dummy project! Nothing in my other projects.
Surely this is not set up on a per project basis - or am I missing something here? :?
EDIT: This works on all my MX 8 projects, but none of the MX9
EDIT 2: Will work on NEW MX9 projects, but not existing ones.
Hi,

It seems to work the same way in Mixcraft 8: if I save a project with the MIDI mapping, it has the MIDI mapping, but older projects don't have it, unless I save them with it.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by jlouvar » Sun Jan 05, 2020 1:13 pm

Yeah, MIDI mapping is pacific with individual projects... Which in my opinion is a good thing, because for example, I may want my surface controller knobs, faders, buttons, etc to do different things in different projects.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2477
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:35 pm

Here's a thought.. Bit late for me to try right now, could I use 2 devices for MIDI control?
I have my Novation Lauchkey as the main device, but I also have an old Korg Nano Kontrol. Thinking I may be able to use that for 'other' controls not covered by the Novation...
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2477
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:52 pm

And so the mystery returns - now it's not working on ANY projects - new or otherwise. MX 8 and 9!! :shock:
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1378
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by jlouvar » Sun Jan 05, 2020 4:04 pm

Hmm, it sounds like you have something else causing problems... BTW: I use the Mixcraft transport app with my iPad and iPhone a lot.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 452, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, Amps, Stomp boxes and a lot of Microphones, etc.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2477
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 05, 2020 10:20 pm

Yep, also use the app, but wish I knew what was wrong with the rest of the stuff. Tried the second device (Nano Kontrol) it works in conjunction with the Novation - but still, won't retain any of the commands in 8 or 9.
Anybody else experiencing this?
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Hermu
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:15 am

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by Hermu » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:23 am

1. Configure and save your MIDI controller: Mix->MIDI Control Suface
2. Load a project file and load your previous configured MIDI controller configuration
3. save your project file and this will also save your actual MIDI controller configuration
next time project will loaded with your last project saved MIDI controller configuration
if you want to use another MIDI controller you have to start with step 1 again
Acer XC-605, I7-4770 3,4GHz, 8 GB Ram, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Mixcraft Pro Studio 7 (64 bit)
NOVATION Impulse 61, E-MU Shortboard 49, Roland SD-50, CASIO WK-7500, iRig Keys, KORG NanoKontrol 2, iCON iControls, TouchDAW

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2477
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: MIDI Transport Control

Post by trevlyns » Mon Jan 06, 2020 7:39 am

Wow! Thanks Hermu!
Problem sorted. - I was not saving the configuration as it was greyed out. Have to enter a device name first. :oops:
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

Website
Soundcloud
FaceBook

Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX8 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Post Reply