Playback

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:38 pm

Hi Mixcraft team,

Is it possible in a future update of MC 9 to be able to start playback without a clip in a track ?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:40 pm

Hi,

You can currently add a blank clip to a virtual instrument track.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by jlouvar » Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:48 pm

You can also playback a blank audio track too.
Olivier57 wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:38 pm
Is it possible in a future update of MC 9 to be able to start playback without a clip in a track ?
Out of curiosity, why would you need this, what are you wanting to do?
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 447, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:00 pm

Hi,

Some people want this so they can have a metronome with no other playback.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1298
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by jlouvar » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:04 pm

Okay thanks, I should of said besides for metronome playing, lol.
- Joe -
MX 9.0 Pro, Build 447, 64-bit. i5, 1.80GHz, 8GB, Windows 10. 2nd Gen Focusrite Scarlett 2i4, Event and PreSonus monitors, Sony MDR-7506, Korg TR61, Akai MPK249, Fender P & J basses, Ric, Strat, D35, stomp boxes and a lot of microphones, etc.

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:45 pm

Hi,
Some people want this so they can have a metronome with no other playback.
Yes Greg.

And to use Captain Plugins. Indeed Captain Plugins triggers the audio playback of the DAW, currently Captain Plugins does not work properly with Mixcraft 9, maybe by modifying the audio playback, this would solve some compatibility problems, in particular the synchronization with a blank clip in playback.
Captain plugins are really great VSTi tools it's a shame to not be able to use them with Mixcraft 9. :(
What do you think Greg could be considered ?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:30 pm

Hi,

The feature that is not working is that the plugin initiates playback in Mixcraft? Why does it need to do that? What are you trying to do?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:11 pm

Greg,
The feature that is not working is that the plugin initiates playback in Mixcraft?
Yes

Do you know Captain Plugins and how it works ?
Look here for Captain Chords

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:22 pm

Hi,

So, why does it need to initiate playback?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:15 pm

Hi,

Because there is a kind of mini sequencer in the plug in to playback the chords. That's the concept of Captain Plugins.
Last edited by Olivier57 on Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:33 pm

Hi,

What part of the plugin doesn't work when it can't initiate playback in Mixcraft? Isn't it mostly functional? I mean, you can drag and drop the MIDI onto tracks in Mixcraft, etc.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:13 pm

Synchronization of the playback bar between Mixcraft and Captain Chords is not correct and there is sound cut out during loop playback.
I mean, you can drag and drop the MIDI onto tracks in Mixcraft
Yes drag and drop works great.

Greg, it's a shame there isn't a demo version to download of Captain Chords that you could test with Mixcraft.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:51 am

Hi,

Okay, so the problem is not that Captain Chord can't initiate playback in Mixcraft, the problem is sound cutting out and synchronization is not correct? Is there a "sync to host" setting in that plugin?

Does increasing latency help with the sound cutting out?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am

Re: Playback

Post by Olivier57 » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:50 pm

Hi,

No "sync to host".
Does increasing latency help with the sound cutting out?
No.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 20198
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Playback

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:53 pm

Hi,

You could report these problems to the maker of the plugin and see if they have any suggestions.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply