Page 1 of 3

Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:38 pm
by Olivier57
Hi Mixcraft team,

Is it possible in a future update of MC 9 to be able to start playback without a clip in a track ?

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:40 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

You can currently add a blank clip to a virtual instrument track.

Thanks for the suggestion!

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:48 pm
by jlouvar
You can also playback a blank audio track too.
Olivier57 wrote:
Tue Jan 07, 2020 12:38 pm
Is it possible in a future update of MC 9 to be able to start playback without a clip in a track ?
Out of curiosity, why would you need this, what are you wanting to do?

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:00 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Some people want this so they can have a metronome with no other playback.

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:04 pm
by jlouvar
Okay thanks, I should of said besides for metronome playing, lol.

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 1:45 pm
by Olivier57
Hi,
Some people want this so they can have a metronome with no other playback.
Yes Greg.

And to use Captain Plugins. Indeed Captain Plugins triggers the audio playback of the DAW, currently Captain Plugins does not work properly with Mixcraft 9, maybe by modifying the audio playback, this would solve some compatibility problems, in particular the synchronization with a blank clip in playback.
Captain plugins are really great VSTi tools it's a shame to not be able to use them with Mixcraft 9. :(
What do you think Greg could be considered ?

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 2:30 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

The feature that is not working is that the plugin initiates playback in Mixcraft? Why does it need to do that? What are you trying to do?

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:11 pm
by Olivier57
Greg,
The feature that is not working is that the plugin initiates playback in Mixcraft?
Yes

Do you know Captain Plugins and how it works ?
Look here for Captain Chords

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 3:22 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

So, why does it need to initiate playback?

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:15 pm
by Olivier57
Hi,

Because there is a kind of mini sequencer in the plug in to playback the chords. That's the concept of Captain Plugins.

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:33 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

What part of the plugin doesn't work when it can't initiate playback in Mixcraft? Isn't it mostly functional? I mean, you can drag and drop the MIDI onto tracks in Mixcraft, etc.

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:13 pm
by Olivier57
Synchronization of the playback bar between Mixcraft and Captain Chords is not correct and there is sound cut out during loop playback.
I mean, you can drag and drop the MIDI onto tracks in Mixcraft
Yes drag and drop works great.

Greg, it's a shame there isn't a demo version to download of Captain Chords that you could test with Mixcraft.

Re: Playback

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:51 am
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Okay, so the problem is not that Captain Chord can't initiate playback in Mixcraft, the problem is sound cutting out and synchronization is not correct? Is there a "sync to host" setting in that plugin?

Does increasing latency help with the sound cutting out?

Greg

Re: Playback

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:50 pm
by Olivier57
Hi,

No "sync to host".
Does increasing latency help with the sound cutting out?
No.

Re: Playback

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:53 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

You could report these problems to the maker of the plugin and see if they have any suggestions.

Greg