Page 1 of 1

Can I run 32 bit vst plugins on my installed 64 bit Mixcraft 9?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:20 pm
by dathyr1
I know this has probably been asked a hundred times, but I couldnt find the answer to this in my searches.

I try to stick with all 64 bit VST plugins on my installed 64 bit Mixcraft 9, but i do have some 32 bit plugins that would be cool to also be able to play in Mixcraft. So do 32 bit VST plugins(sound or effects) work in my new Mixcraft 9?

thank you for any info.

Dave

Re: Can I run 32 bit vst plugins on my installed 64 bit Mixcraft 9?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:28 pm
by Acoustica Greg
Hi,

Yes, that's one of the amazing things about Mixcraft: it automatically "bridges" 32-bit plugins so that they can load in 64-bit Mixcraft.

It can add a bit of extra overhead to the CPU, but other wise should work just fine. The audio quality is the same.

Greg

Re: Can I run 32 bit vst plugins on my installed 64 bit Mixcraft 9?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 5:31 pm
by Mark Bliss
(Crosspost)
Yes. The 64bit version will run 32bit plug ins.
Some people may find it causes resource issues to run too may instances, but that depends on the specifics of the project and system.

Re: Can I run 32 bit vst plugins on my installed 64 bit Mixcraft 9?

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2020 10:02 pm
by dathyr1
Thanks Guys for your replies and nice to hear the 32 bit plugins can be used. Been away from doing music for a while doing other things, not a health issue. Excited to get the new Mixcraft 9,using it, and watching the videos on it. Greg, I will look at the optimization post here to see if I have everything set for best results.

All is working great with new Mixcraft 9. Finding out few of my new plugins are heavy hitters by sometimes causing crackling in the audio. So learning as I go again with the new DAW.

take care,
Dave