Piano Roll Octave

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:30 am

Hi,

As in Mixcraft 8, there is always one octave of offset between an external Vsti and the piano roll !!
This is a big problem when using drag and drop with instruments that have this possibility.
Where does it come from instruments or Mixcraft ?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 14, 2020 9:58 am

Hi,

Are you saying it happens in both Mixcraft 8 and 9? Can you please explain the problem in more detail?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:28 am

Yes in MC 8 and 9.

Here a little video:
https://youtu.be/fJruyL_P4LA
Hope you understand.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:32 pm

Hi,

Does your external keyboard have an octave setting? The Oxygen8 I'm using has an octave setting that can shift the octave up or down.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:39 pm

Hi,

Yes, I can do that.

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:47 am

Hi Greg,

But, there is always an octave shift with some Vsti

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 9:15 am

HI,

So, you've got certain VST plugins that play an octave off? In the video, it's the DX7 plugin. Which other plugins are having this problem, exactly? Is it just the DX7 plugin?

The DX7 plugin allows you to drag MIDI and drop it in Mixcraft, and then the notes are an octave higher than they should be?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:35 am

Hi,

Ujam Beatmaker, but drag and drop looks correct.
Ujam VG Carbon.
The DX7 plugin allows you to drag MIDI and drop it in Mixcraft, and then the notes are an octave higher than they should be?
There is no drag and drop with the DX7.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:09 pm

Hi,

In the video, I'm not seeing a problem with DX7, or am I missing something?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6821
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:55 pm

I think.... The user is talking about where C1 is pressed (vsti), but C2 is shown to respond graphically (piano roll)? I dont think its the sound in question, its the GUI. Maybe? Not sure.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:06 pm

Hi,

I think the video shows 2 concerns for him:

1. If you click the virtual instrument keyboard, the piano roll doesn't show it. I think that's just the way it works.
2. Pressing a key on the keyboard makes the wrong octave play.

But the VST in use wouldn't affect which piano roll key is played. The video seems to show that the piano roll and the VSTi have the same key playing.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:19 pm

Hi,

If pressing C4 on the MIDI controller makes C5 play in Mixcraft, that makes me wonder whether the octave setting on the keyboard i set to 0, so that's why I asked about that.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
KDW
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by KDW » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:13 am

In Cubase 9.5 and 10.5 it is displayed correctly.

I press C3 and the piano roll also shows C3 and is also recorded as C3.

Mixcraft 8 & 9 instead shows C4 and also recoreded C4.
No matter whether with MODX8 or MP7.

Now, i save the midi file and load it into Cubase. Cubase shows C3 in the piano roll.

As Mark said, maybe just the GUI.

Maybe it helps a little...
KDW

MC 9 Pro
Scarlett 18i8 2.gen., Scarlett Octopre, iConnectMIDI4+
Kawai MP7, Yamaha MODX 8, Yamaha SY22, EMU Protheus, Roland D-05, NI Maschine MK3
Cubase 9.5.50 Pro & 10.5 Pro, Dorico 3 Pro, WaveLab 10 Pro, Absolute 4, Melodyne Studio 4 ...

Olivier57
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 12:59 am
Location: France

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Olivier57 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:29 am

Hi,
I think.... The user is talking about where C1 is pressed (vsti), but C2 is shown to respond graphically (piano roll)? I dont think its the sound in question, its the GUI
Exactly
If you click the virtual instrument keyboard, the piano roll doesn't show it.
Exactly
Pressing a key on the keyboard makes the wrong octave play.
Yes in the piano roll.

And yes the octave setting on the keyboard is set to 0.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21088
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Piano Roll Octave

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:17 am

Hi,

If you switch the virtual instrument to Memorymoon on that track, does the second problem happen?


The first problem being that clicking on the virtual instrument doesn't make the piano roll keys visibly respond. That's just the way it works.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply