Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2638
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by trevlyns » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:54 pm

LAWD! Even a technophobe like me can see that this shortcut code has to be SO easy to include!

Shift + S - View, all track heights - Small
Shift + N - View, all track heights - Normal
Shift + L - View, all track heights - Large


No?
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 29, 2020 4:57 pm

Hi,

Try Ctrl+~

Whereas ~ is the squiggly little tilde symbol. Each time you press it, it cycles through a different track height. This is new for Mixcraft 9.

But of course, you may have a UK keyboard, so there's that whole thing. It might be Ctrl+* or something for you.

Edited to add: Mixcraft 9 also adds an extra large track height.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:02 pm

Okay, I think on UK keyboards it would be Ctrl+`

Whereas ` is the opening quote that is on the UK keyboard with the ampersand. (Historical perspective: https://forums.acoustica.com/viewtopic. ... 329#p85945)*

Unless Ctrl+tilde is working for you, of course.




*Thanks, Tom.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3567
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by outteh » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:18 pm

Wow, hit the way-back machine! :lol: :D

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:20 pm

outteh wrote:
Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:18 pm
Wow, hit the way-back machine! :lol: :D
Way back in '15. Dry year, that year.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3567
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by outteh » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:32 pm

Main differences between a US and UK keyboard:

an AltGr key is added to the right of the space bar
the # symbol is replaced by the £ symbol and a 102nd key is added next to the Enter key to accommodate the displaced #
@ and ” are swapped
the ~ is moved to the # key, and is replaced by a ¬ symbol on the backquote (`) key
the \ key is moved to the left of the Z key
the Enter key spans two rows, and is narrower to accommodate the # key
on laptop computers, the | and \ key is often placed next to the space bar

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1718
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by jlouvar » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:45 pm

You can also use the menu or just drag the tracks to whatever size you want... Personally, I rarely change track size.
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.
Reverbnation: https://www.reverbnation.com/joelouvar

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 29, 2020 5:49 pm

You can shift-drag between tracks to change them all at once:

Image
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2638
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by trevlyns » Wed Jan 29, 2020 6:50 pm

OK! So who gave WHO independence! Who said you could change computer keyboard functions! :mrgreen:
Seriously though, I do a lot of fine editing and need to 'snap' between individual track views - a real pain going View> All tracks Heights> (small, medium, large, extra large) as opposed to (my suggestion)
Most recent example - doing final edits to my current song and listening through... the MIDI on 'that part' needs adjusting at the beginning of the chorus; first part of guitar solo needs to be up in volume a tad; wrong bass note played - [NEVER!] ... Each of these needs a focus on that particular track - enlarging it, doing the edit, then minimising it again.
C'mon fellas! Give us a break here! :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 29, 2020 7:06 pm

Hi,

Did you try the keyboard shortcut I suggested?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6941
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Jan 29, 2020 8:03 pm

Have to give a +1 to Trevor's suggestion here. 8)

Yes, the Ctrl+~ (or whatever your regional variance is, noting that some shortcuts in some software unfortunately doesnt work as expected using the alternatives from what I understand..... But I digress.) Works and is a handy tip-

The simple fact is, as Trevor explains, it presently requires multiple steps to get to the desired size, then several more to get back to the previous size.
Instead, with dedicated shortcuts, you should be able to switch a track to the desired size in one step, and toggle back to the previous size in one step.

As it works now, I admittedly might click the combo one too many times, then its several more to get what I wanted. Then I have to focus on the desired edit or whatever I am trying to do.... Then, "where was I?" Three more clicks, or was that four. ... Oops, one to many.....
What was I doing here anyway?

Its not a huge thing. No big deal.
But its a good suggestion IMO.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

mick
Posts: 1499
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:33 am

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by mick » Thu Jan 30, 2020 4:36 am

How about Z for zoom toggle ?
Or you could get a helmet and think it ....
wallace.PNG
wallace.PNG (765.19 KiB) Viewed 960 times

User avatar
outteh
Posts: 3567
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 12:23 pm
Location: San Antonio, TX

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by outteh » Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:49 am

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21336
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:14 am

HI,

The advantage of a single shortcut key is that you don't have to hunt for the other key combinations. You just hit Ctrl+tilde twice. It's very quick.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2638
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Next Upgrade - PLEASE!

Post by trevlyns » Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:15 pm

Acoustica Greg wrote:
Thu Jan 30, 2020 9:14 am
HI,

The advantage of a single shortcut key is that you don't have to hunt for the other key combinations. You just hit Ctrl+tilde twice. It's very quick.

Greg
Does not work with a UK keyboard Greg
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Post Reply