Wave tempo issue

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
Kuba W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:46 pm

Wave tempo issue

Post by Kuba W » Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:13 pm

Hi Guys.

Just received a remix of my track and wanted to put it through Ozone inside Mixcraft.

When I place the wav on the track, it plays twice (or about) slower.

My interface is 16bit, so my first thought went to 32bit export (however never had problems with 24bit files).

So I've asked for 16bit version and unfortunately it's going the same way.

MP3 of the same project is playing right (and clip is about 2 times shorter).

All files play correct in Vegas, the same with Win MP
(however one thing is unusual: it is always MP3 to get that extra second in the beginning, but in Media Player
it is the wav version(s) playing with few seconds delay).

What can be the reason for that behavior and what can I advise to the remixer to change, as he is even less
experienced in that matter than me?

P.S. Very nice Mixcraft's reviev from classic Polish magazine 'Estrada i Studio' :wink:
https://estradaistudio.pl/testy/sprzet- ... la-windows

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21799
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 16, 2020 2:54 pm

Hi,

Are you using Mixcraft 9.0 build 452?

Go into Mixcraft's Sound Device preferences and turn off the option called "Use Device's Preferred Settings" and then restart Mixcraft. Does that help?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Kuba W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:46 pm

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Kuba W » Mon Mar 16, 2020 3:21 pm

Yes, I'm using the latest build of Mixcraft.

Plus, I'm working with other people files a lot, even now running few projects, recording on someones beats,
or placing other ppl vocals over my beats. This is the first time to have something like that, so I believe
it's something set wrong on remixer's side, but I have no idea what can cause that. Like I said, Media player is
also behaving little different, despite it's playing at right tempo...

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21799
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Acoustica Greg » Mon Mar 16, 2020 3:29 pm

Hi,

Did you try my suggestion? it's only an option if you're using ASIO mode.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Kuba W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:46 pm

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Kuba W » Mon Mar 16, 2020 3:37 pm

I'm using ASIO.

I didn't check it yet, as I'm running a major files backup at the moment.

I'll check as soon as it's finished.

Thanks for answer and suggestion.

Kuba W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:46 pm

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Kuba W » Tue Mar 17, 2020 4:38 am

Hi, just checked and that option was already turned off.

But like I said, other files from my co-ops are working fine.

That concerns only wav files from only one person...

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21799
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Mar 17, 2020 10:30 am

Hi,

I wonder if the wav file is "acidized," which means that it has tempo data stored in it? Select the wav clip and look at it on the piano roll. Is it set to "Use Project Tempo?" Is it set to "Time Stretch?"

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Kuba W
Posts: 106
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:46 pm

Re: Wave tempo issue

Post by Kuba W » Tue Mar 17, 2020 11:42 am

Ok. We've got it! 8)

Right after load it was set to 'Use Project Tempo' and below - 166bpm.

My original project was 83 and also every new project opens at 83 in my template.

That's where the half speed came from.

Switching to 'Time Stretch' - 100% makes it playing right.

I didn't think to change it there, as I only use it for short loops/samples.

I've only played with project tempo, from very low to very high, but that changed nothing.

Is it all because he saved the 166 tempo with the track?
(Tempo was not saved with my acapella and I couldn't check it at that moment, so he was going to detect it himself.
Thats where the 166bpm comes from instead of 83)

Nice that it's solved and thank for advise!

Post Reply