panning

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

albert

panning

Post by albert »

Hello guys. I am a newbie, also to mixcraft. It's more of an hobby and we use it for our own made music.
Great to have found this forum. It helped me a lot uptill now.

Now I am a bit confused about panning and I hope you can help me out. English is not my native language so I am not sure if I understand all that I already found on ths forum in the right way. I also hope that I can explain what my questions are in the right way.

First of all I understand that if, I for instance record the guitar, that it's a mono signal. Most of the time this wil be put left on the track if i arm the track for recording as left to. It will be panned center. I can then pan it where I want. Either left or right. I can double the track and put one to the right and the other to the left. Am I right about that?

My second question is, What happens if I did not armed the track to the left but to stereo. What consequences does this have for panning.

My third question is about a submix and panning. I am making a submix and put in the mono recorded two guitars.
If the submix is panned centre and the guitars left and right does this have the same outcome as the panning above. So two seperate channels panned right and left in the submix. Or does the central submix panning have any influence on the left and right side panned guitars in the submix

What would happen if the guitars in the submix would have been recorded stereo armed.

And the last question is what happens if I have the mono recorded two guitars panned in a submix. and would pan the submix to a side to. Would that widen the mix even further. Does this happen?