Audio Control Panel + Effects

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
Andy85
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:53 am

Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Andy85 » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:11 pm

I am currently trialing Mixcraft 9... (bought MP3 Audio Mixer and CD Label Maker years ago).

So I am just accustoming myself to it but really wish there was an option to have 'sliders' instead of 'knobs' as I find knobs annoying :D

None of my hard audio mixers have knobs... always have sliders... allows for easy viewing at a glance and better adjustment. :D

Also.. I would really like to see a different application for effects which can be applied individually to a track rather an effect that applies to the whole track.

I'm sure I had something like this on some other software some time ago... (not mixcraft) and it was really useful.

Anyway just my thought on this ;)
Andy
Attachments
mixcraft.jpg
mixcraft.jpg (160.47 KiB) Viewed 423 times

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6802
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:04 pm

You can automate effects to accomplish what you describe.

And I dont know what "knobs" you speak of specifically, but I dont recall ever seeing a hardware mixer with no knobs.
Sliders take up valuable space.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

bigaquarium
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by bigaquarium » Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:15 pm

Hi,

+1 on Mark's suggestion about automation. I've gotten away from track effects lately, and have been doing a lot of sends instead, which is a great way to do what you're talking about. Instead of drawing an envelope on a clip you're drawing it on the track!

Then again, doing a lot of sends will add a lot of knobs! :wink:

- Nathan
youtube.com/c/fansofmixcraft
facebook.com/fansofmixcraft
twitter.com/fansofmixcraft
soundcloud.com/fansofmixcraft

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by trevlyns » Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:33 pm

Just dealing with the pic you've posted - I think you may be referring to Reaper where you can have different FX on different parts of a track...
But using your example; I'd just duplicate the track twice: Split the audio where you want the FX and delete all the rest, then just place the FX required on the individual 'new' tracks. So you'd have main track (with the highlighted bits cut out), track 2 just with echo section and track 3 with the flanger.
You could then maybe bounce the three tracks to have one track with all your requirements
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 6802
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Apr 25, 2020 5:42 pm

50 ways to record your brother...... 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1697
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by jlouvar » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:53 am

Mark Bliss wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 5:42 pm
50 ways to record your brother...... 8)
By Paul Simon’s friend, lol. :wink:
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.
Reverbnation: https://www.reverbnation.com/joelouvar

Andy85
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Andy85 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:18 pm

trevlyns wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:33 pm
Just dealing with the pic you've posted - I think you may be referring to Reaper where you can have different FX on different parts of a track...
But using your example; I'd just duplicate the track twice: Split the audio where you want the FX and delete all the rest, then just place the FX required on the individual 'new' tracks. So you'd have main track (with the highlighted bits cut out), track 2 just with echo section and track 3 with the flanger.
You could then maybe bounce the three tracks to have one track with all your requirements
Thanks for the reply and yes that is what I have been doing... but then if there are multiple effects that need to be applied to a single track then you end up with a lot of tracks taking up space.

Thanks
AP

Andy85
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:53 am

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Andy85 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:24 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:04 pm
You can automate effects to accomplish what you describe.

And I dont know what "knobs" you speak of specifically, but I dont recall ever seeing a hardware mixer with no knobs.
Sliders take up valuable space.
Thanks for the reply... Yes indeed a hard mixer will have some knobs for adjustments but I have always considered sliders to be easier to use.

I have dealt with PA systems for many years and have always gone for as much slider control as possible

For example the mixcraft volume controls for each track are laid out with sliders and very easy to adjust with a mouse.

The audio controller is just fiddly with on the knob controlled by the mouse.

I suppose it is what your use to.

Thanks
AP

User avatar
jlouvar
Posts: 1697
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 4:56 pm
Location: California - USA
Contact:

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by jlouvar » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:43 pm

Professional hardware audio mixing consoles have more buttons and knobs than faders.
Even my cheap little home hardware mixer has more buttons and knobs than faders. :wink:
Attachments
C32A1648-580A-43BE-BE90-6A8B94674E7B.jpeg
C32A1648-580A-43BE-BE90-6A8B94674E7B.jpeg (127.74 KiB) Viewed 370 times
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.
Reverbnation: https://www.reverbnation.com/joelouvar

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by Rolling Estonian » Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:03 pm

Andy85 wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:24 pm
For example the mixcraft volume controls for each track are laid out with sliders and very easy to adjust with a mouse.

The audio controller is just fiddly with on the knob controlled by the mouse.

I suppose it is what your use to.
Wouldn't it be great if there were mouse wheel scroll control? You know, hover the mouse over a knob or fader and the mouse wheel controls said knob or fader. Even the Tone Booster vst offer this. My #1 request for MC for sure.

M

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by trevlyns » Sun Apr 26, 2020 2:03 pm

another thought - do it with automation of the wet mix on the FX...
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

aj113
Posts: 1391
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 3:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Control Panel + Effects

Post by aj113 » Fri May 01, 2020 2:41 am

trevlyns wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:33 pm
... I'd just duplicate the track twice: Split the audio where you want the FX and delete all the rest, then just place the FX required on the individual 'new' tracks. So you'd have main track (with the highlighted bits cut out), track 2 just with echo section and track 3 with the flanger.
...
Two reasons for doing it this way:

1. The automation is buggy. It doesn't always come in and out exactly where you want it, and it often has an audible click at the start/finish if you're bringing it in from zero.

2. You can visibly see in the DAW exactly where each effect operates on the track.

I would do it this way even if there were a facility to put separate effects on separate sections of a track.

Post Reply