Computer Question

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Computer Question

Post by trevlyns » Wed Apr 29, 2020 12:54 pm

OK, I'm too old to know about this: one of you young'uns help out here please! :mrgreen:
When loading a project, I notice the progress of MC and System lower right. MC settles quite quickly, but System goes outrageously wild - often into the red and I've seen it as high as 84 percent. Also takes quite a bit of time to settle. :shock:
Nothing untoward in the projects except maybe an instance of EZDrummer and EZKeys - I know they take a bit of time to load...
Specs are in my signature - Cause for concern?
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Computer Question

Post by Rolling Estonian » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:02 pm

Nah, just has to go through stuff, I think that's the technical term..... Bigger projects can take a bit, nothing crazy, but several seconds for sure.

M

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by trevlyns » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:10 pm

phew thanks! Thought for a moment I may need a more powerful computer......
Now THERE's a thought :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21025
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:20 pm

The Mixcraft CPU shows how much processing Mixcraft is requiring and System CPU shows what's going on with everything else, so you could also look at what else is running on your computer, and shut down unnecessary programs.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by trevlyns » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:26 pm

Thanks for the clarification Greg
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Rolling Estonian
Posts: 1590
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 9:42 am
Location: MD/DC

Re: Computer Question

Post by Rolling Estonian » Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:37 pm

trevlyns wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:10 pm
Thought for a moment I may need a more powerful computer......
I can imagine that the 4gb ram you have are begging for help!

M

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by trevlyns » Wed Apr 29, 2020 2:35 pm

Rolling Estonian wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:37 pm
trevlyns wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 1:10 pm
Thought for a moment I may need a more powerful computer......
I can imagine that the 4gb ram you have are begging for help!

M
Will have to revive my old machine - 16 GIG - unfortunately the RAM is not interchangeable..
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
comedians
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by comedians » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:26 pm

Hi Trevor

Ram is ridiculously cheap these days, you can get 8gb Vengeance ddr4 for £40 or ddr3 for around £35. In the 1980s 128Kb for my North Star was almost that price and was certainly out of my reach in those days.

Stress and desperation is more expensive.
:)

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21025
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by Acoustica Greg » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:43 pm

...and make sure you do not have Force Single CPU selected in Sound Device preferences.

Multiple cores are your friend.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

User avatar
Thomas
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 2:54 pm

Re: Computer Question

Post by Thomas » Thu Apr 30, 2020 9:26 pm

You can take a look at task manager to see the resource use on your PC. See what % of memory is being used. I think your i5 might beat my AMD but 4 gigs of RAM might be the biggest issue. I don't know what 4 GB of RAM cost for your mother board but even that much added can give you some breathing room.
-Tom
Mixcraft 8 Pro Studio 64-Bit
Windows 10 64-Bit
AMD Athlon II X4 645 3.1 GHz 10GB Ram
Behringer UMC404HD v4.59 interface

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2578
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by trevlyns » Thu Apr 30, 2020 11:54 pm

Thanks for all the responses guys!
Yep, I'm going to go for a RAM upgrade 8)
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member

Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21025
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Computer Question

Post by Acoustica Greg » Fri May 01, 2020 7:28 am

That will give 64-bit Mixcraft something to do, since that's what 64-bit software gives you - access to RAM beyond the first 4 GB.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply