file size

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

rwhocutt

file size

Post by rwhocutt »

I'm working on a song (under 4 minutes) and the software seems very sluggish. There are seemingly random pops and scratches on playback that I wasn't hearing until just recently. Also when I save the file, it takes a long time and I am informed while waiting that the program is "not responding". However if I wait long enough it does seem to actually save the changes. This is also a recent development. The file size shows up as 616 Mb. This seems high to me although I am brand new at this. Is this file size reasonable?
jlouvar

Re: file size

Post by jlouvar »

rwhocutt wrote: Fri May 22, 2020 1:21 pm I'm working on a song (under 4 minutes) and the software seems very sluggish. There are seemingly random pops and scratches on playback that I wasn't hearing until just recently. Also when I save the file, it takes a long time and I am informed while waiting that the program is "not responding". However if I wait long enough it does seem to actually save the changes. This is also a recent development. The file size shows up as 616 Mb. This seems high to me although I am brand new at this. Is this file size reasonable?
Hello and welcome to the MIxcraft forum.

Make sure you optimize your computer for MIxcraft: https://forums.acoustica.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=14668
Also checkout this thread: https://forums.acoustica.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=24566

If you’re using an external audio interface make sure the drivers are up to date and use ASIO.

I’m guessing that you’re using MIxcraft 9.0 Pro, Build 460, 64-bit with Windows 10... Are you using any third party VST, plug-ins, etc?

MIxcraft can easily handle a 4 minute song.

Joe
Last edited by jlouvar on Sat May 23, 2020 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
- Joe -

MX9PS, 64-bit, build 460. Windows 10, Intel i5, 64-bit, 1.8GHz, 8GB.