New Laptop Advice

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

daveh839

New Laptop Advice

Post by daveh839 »

Hi - I'm ready to buy Mixcraft 9, and have a two part question:

If I buy a Mixcraft license now and download to my existing dual core laptop, would I be able to transfer the license to a new laptop once I buy one? I'd like to see how Mixcraft performs on the dual core/ 8 GB RAM laptop I currently have just to see if it will meet my needs.

And speaking of new laptop, I've read that I'll need a quad core processor and at least 12 GB RAM to avoid potential issues with multiple MIDI track recording. Are there any recommendations regarding specific laptops? For example, will an quad core AMD processor work as well as the Intel version? I'm no producer or even a good musician, just a hobbyist that wants to add loop tracks to my original guitar, bass, and vocal tracks.

Many thanks,

Dave
Mr.Mxyzptlk

Re: New Laptop Advice

Post by Mr.Mxyzptlk »

Hi there,

Talk about coincidence. My own laptop died about 6 weeks ago. My PC had packed up months before that too. So I've been without Mixcraft for nearly two months now. My new(ish) PC arrived today and I've reinstalled Mixcraft no problem. So long as you've got your user ID and reg code you're good to go. My laptop was an i5 quad core with 8GB and it was ok till I started using ComposerCloud then it buckled under the weight.

I won't advise you too much on the specs side. Perhaps one of the more learned gents or ladies can do that. But I can assure you from my own experience today that you can install Mixcraft on a new machine, no problem at all. It's just a pain re-adding all the VSTs, sound files and configuring as before. I've also upgraded to Mixcraft Pro Studio so will see how that goes.

Good luck!