mixcraft Mac support!

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, rsaintjohn

DJ Housefly

mixcraft Mac support!

Post by DJ Housefly »

Mac support!

I’ve been using Mixcraft for 10 years on my studio Windows computer. this has been been fine and dandy for the most part, but since production has become so integral in my career, concerns have arisen with increasing pressure from collaboration work and labels,with many collaborators residing in the west coast of the US (I live in the east coast of Canada).

My personal laptop is a Mac. 10 years ago I bought a Windows desktop since finding out that Mixcraft is windows-only.

wondering now what the case against making Mixcraft Mac-compatible is? I wouldn’t want to have to bring my recording studio if my career brought me to LA.

I’ve never been a fan of Windows laptops so I wouldn’t consider that as an alternative even after being a loyal Pro Studio user for so long.

Housefly
Rolling Estonian

Re: mixcraft Mac support!

Post by Rolling Estonian »

Not really much point as Apple has Garage Band for free and Logic after that. I'm assuming that Acoustica has weighed it and figured it wasn't worth the overhead.

M
DJ Housefly

Post by DJ Housefly »

GarageBand and Mixcraft are radically different and as far as I'm concerned Mixcraft is no longer the Windows alternative of GarageBand, even if it used to be branded that way more heavily. Mixcraft over the years has grown to be far more powerful and capable than GarageBand because of Acoustica's regular updating and extended versions (Pro Studio, Recording Studio) whereas GarageBand is becoming obsolete and unusable.

The phrase that Mixcraft is the 'windows version of GarageBand' is increasingly invalid and doesn't argue against the case for making Mixcraft available on Mac.

Housefly
Acoustica Greg

Post by Acoustica Greg »

Hi,