Melodyne shortens my audio

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
Eelqhe
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:28 pm

Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by Eelqhe » Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:29 pm

Hello folk,



I have recorded some audio in Ableton. I load the audio into melodyne, work the melodyne magic, and export the audio so I can put it back into Ableton. Yet after I have done this I notice my audio has shortened. After every few seconds the audio seems to speed up (shortening the total audio track by about 10-15% in total). I have redone the process a couple times but couldn’t find out why this is happening.



Is there some kind o function in melodyne on that I’m not aware about?



Thanks in advance,

Eelke

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by Mark Bliss » Fri Jan 01, 2021 8:43 am

You might get better help from Ableton or Celemony I reckon.

I have never experienced anything like that with Melodyne while using Mixcraft. I assume by your description you are using Melodyne stand alone?

Maybe try Mixcraft for comparison.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21640
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Jan 06, 2021 3:19 pm

Hi,

Make sure that you don't have Auto Beatmatch enabled in Mixcraft, in case it changed the tempo of the sound. Look at the audio on the Sound tab and make sure it's set to Time Stretch and that the value is set to 100%.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Ianpb
Posts: 1246
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:05 am
Location: London, England

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by Ianpb » Sun Jan 10, 2021 8:54 pm

After importing the edited clip back into Mixcraft, highlight it. Then, under the 'Sound' tab, increase the Time Stretch. Once you have it accurately matched, you can - as an option - right-click the track and select 'Mix To New Clip', which will then revert the Time Stretch setting to zero but keep the adjusted clip at the same length. That's what I always do when that issue occurs.
Last edited by Ianpb on Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 10, 2021 11:31 pm

Melodyne acts with an underlying file in it's host DAW.
I'd suggest once you've 'worked the magic'; right click the track in Mixcraft and 'mix to new audio track'. That track can then be imported into Ableton.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7084
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by Mark Bliss » Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:15 am

Perhaps I misunderstood the OP. I read nothing about the use of Mixcraft.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Melodyne shortens my audio

Post by trevlyns » Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:09 am

Mark Bliss wrote:
Mon Jan 11, 2021 7:15 am
Perhaps I misunderstood the OP. I read nothing about the use of Mixcraft.
Perhaps I'm also mistaken - I saw 'export the audio so I can put it back into Ableton.' and assumed it was imported to MC for Melodyne 'treatment' :?
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

Post Reply