SOLVED Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
MikeDVI
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:23 pm

SOLVED Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Post by MikeDVI » Sun Jan 17, 2021 4:38 pm

Hi all, anyone experiencing lock-ups / freezes in Melodyne 5.1.1 when moving blobs to adjust? Once frozen, I have to go into task manger to close out, then reopen the song. Sometimes my "blob note" is hanging in the studio monitors as well and once closing MX it still plays that stuck note, so I then restart my AI as well.

One thing that is my own fault - - formerly I had Melodyne editor 4.2.4.001 > so I upgraded from an email thinking they (Celemony) offered me an upgrade, which ultimately is a downgrade to essentials 5.1.1 I suppose. I only have 3 songs in the works with 5.1.1, I may uninstall it and go back to editor 4.

Thanks - Mike

Edit - the last crash a minute ago here destroyed the mix I was working on, MX reports it is corrupt and cannot load melodye data. Yes, I am a backup hound, so all is well except the recent melodyne work.

Melodyne 5.1.1 essential / MX-9 Pro studio 469
Last edited by MikeDVI on Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
MX9 Pro Studio B 469, Dell XPS 8930 Core I9-9900 3.10 GHz, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 2060, 1 and 2 TB SSD’s + 1 and 2 TB spinner sata’s, cookies and coffee

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Post by trevlyns » Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:58 pm

I also have Melodyne Editor 4 and my experience has been that you cannot have both (Editor 4 and Essentials 5) installed on your PC. If you use one, you must uninstall the other.
I've not experienced the problems you mention though...
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

MikeDVI
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:23 pm

Re: Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Post by MikeDVI » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:34 am

trevlyns wrote:
Sun Jan 17, 2021 10:58 pm
I also have Melodyne Editor 4 and my experience has been that you cannot have both (Editor 4 and Essentials 5) installed on your PC. If you use one, you must uninstall the other.
You know trevlyns, thanks for reminding me. I learned this "uninstall completely" lesson with Melodyne a couple versions ago. Melodyne even tells us to perform a fresh installation.

But, no, just this once I'll take shortcuts and not do this important step right? :oops:

So ultimately I decided to uninstall everything related to Melodyne, purchased the upgrade for Editor 5.1.1, installed from scratch, and viola, all is well. So my one crashed song is still gone, but the backup to the rescue and I'm in business, only lost a couple hours work.

Mike
MX9 Pro Studio B 469, Dell XPS 8930 Core I9-9900 3.10 GHz, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 2060, 1 and 2 TB SSD’s + 1 and 2 TB spinner sata’s, cookies and coffee

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2770
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: SOLVED Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Post by trevlyns » Mon Jan 18, 2021 8:58 am

Glad it all worked out for you Mike! :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel quad core i-5 @ 3.30 GHz; 16 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

MikeDVI
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:23 pm

Re: SOLVED Melodyne 5.1.1 often freezing when moving "blobs"

Post by MikeDVI » Mon Jan 18, 2021 9:05 am

Thanks, figured I'd post my error so others do not do the same...

Mike
MX9 Pro Studio B 469, Dell XPS 8930 Core I9-9900 3.10 GHz, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 2060, 1 and 2 TB SSD’s + 1 and 2 TB spinner sata’s, cookies and coffee

Post Reply