Bit Depth Confusion??

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
monnkey2
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:49 am

Bit Depth Confusion??

Post by monnkey2 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:00 am

I am using a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 second generation interface with MC9. The Focusrite only supports 24 bits, yet when I record a track into MC9 the track shows that it's 32 bits. The MC9 GUI shows 32 bits at the bottom of the screen, but when I select the recorded track under the Sounds tab it shows that the track is 32 bits, not 24. I'm using the Focusrite ASIO driver, and under preferences for the session it doesn't give me an option to set the bit depth. It only gives me the option to set the sample rate. Does MC9 automatically convert recorded tracks to 32 bits? If so do I need to dither to 24 when I mixdown if I want a 24 bit track? Any help would be amazing! Thanks!

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Bit Depth Confusion??

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:57 am

You can ignore the gui, its a known anomaly.

Your interface is recording at 24. Internally the daw operates at 32 floating integer.
Upon mixdown, you can select 24 if thats what you want.

Fwiw, I generally save/archive 24 bit copies, and (if desired), dither when mastering for example a 16 bit copy.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

monnkey2
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:49 am

Re: Bit Depth Confusion??

Post by monnkey2 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 2:26 pm

Mark Bliss wrote:
Wed Jan 20, 2021 11:57 am
You can ignore the gui, its a known anomaly.

Your interface is recording at 24. Internally the daw operates at 32 floating integer.
Upon mixdown, you can select 24 if thats what you want.

Fwiw, I generally save/archive 24 bit copies, and (if desired), dither when mastering for example a 16 bit copy.
Thanks! So if MC is operating at 32 bit float, do I need to dither if I’m mixing down to 24 bits?

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Bit Depth Confusion??

Post by Mark Bliss » Wed Jan 20, 2021 3:12 pm

No.
If you choose to dither, it should only be done once- so that would best be done when you render your 24 bit file to its final format.
And btw, this is all just technical audio engineering theory, not personal opinion.

If asked my opinion, I would say that dithering is about the last, teeniest, most miniscule concern in all of digital audio.
It may even be less important than that... 8)
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

Post Reply