Tempo change on imported .wav file

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

MikeDVI
Posts: 180
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:23 pm

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by MikeDVI » Sat Feb 06, 2021 8:56 am

tomsank wrote:
Sun Jan 31, 2021 8:46 am
Thanks - I'll try it this afternoon and see if it works for me. Right now, I have to finish a mix yesterday and so don't have time to experiment. I'll let you know what happens. thanks again!
Hi Thomas - any luck with this? Looking at the sparse replies I suspect you and I are among the few experiencing this, which of course still points to user fail maybe...LOL

Mike
MX9 Pro Studio B 469, Dell XPS 8930 Core I9-9900 3.10 GHz, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, Nvidia GeForce 2060, 1 and 2 TB SSD’s + 1 and 2 TB spinner sata’s, cookies and coffee

bigaquarium
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by bigaquarium » Sat Feb 06, 2021 12:20 pm

Morning,

As to the first answer I gave, sometimes just turning timestretch on or off is enough to fix it. I believe Acoustica Dan calls them "tempo obeying" clips when "use project tempo" is selected, and they will reference or ignore the project tempo depending on that setting being on or off.

Greg, correct me if this is wrong but Mixcraft doesn't create "Acidized" audio files does it?

I need to watch my own videos and remember how to use this thing lol.
youtube.com/c/fansofmixcraft
soundcloud.com/fansofmixcraft

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22071
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by Acoustica Greg » Sat Feb 06, 2021 1:16 pm

tomsank wrote:
Sat Jan 30, 2021 5:00 pm
@Mark - Yes, the time stretch is set to 100% and I clicked on "Use Project tempo".
Hi,

If you select Use Project Tempo, it will ignore the Time Stretch command and try to match the project tempo. This assumes that it "knows" the correct tempo of the clip in the first place. Not all audio clips have tempo data stored within them and not all clips have clear detectable beats. Also, factors like the length of the clip come into play, and shifting tempos.

If you're getting inexplicable tempo changes when mixing down, read this post: https://forums.acoustica.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=24566

Holding down the Ctrl key and dragging the end of a clip allows you to time stretch it on the fly, and sometimes you can visually match things up.

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

User avatar
Mark Bliss
Posts: 7149
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2012 3:59 pm
Location: Out there

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by Mark Bliss » Sat Feb 06, 2021 9:05 pm

If you revisit my initial reply, you will see that it has "time stretch" selected, not "use project tempo"
For your purposes, it should be set to 100%
And similarly, "transpose" selected and set to 0.
This is the equivalent of setting both parameters to "off"

This wont undo whatever you have done. But if you use those settings, mix down and re-import as you described, the tempo and pitch will be unaltered, unlike what happened with it set to "use project tempo" which is really for other purposes.
Stay in tune, Mark

My SOUNDCLOUD Page

mbkeareny
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:50 am

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by mbkeareny » Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:55 am

I am struggling with this and just now started looking in this forum. I use Band in a Box to start with. I generate backing tracks in BiaB and save them as individual .wav files. I then load them into MixCraft. I have never had an issue when I start with an empty project, set the time base to the same as the BiaB files and either add them to tracks or drag and drop the set together. Everything has always lined up perfectly at the correct tempo. After a time of no activity I am back with some new songs and something broke. I started blaming BiaB because since I upgraded it to 2021 there has bee a steady stream of fixes, updates, etc. However, when I load the same files into other DAWs and Audacity, everything lines up perfectly -- no issues. I did recently upgrade MixCraft Pro to build 469 and I believe that is when I started to have the problems. The frustrating part is that I have been doing this since I first started using MixCraft a couple of years ago and never had this issue before. Starting from scratch with clean .wav files should not cause a problem in my opinion -- how do I fix it?

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 22071
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by Acoustica Greg » Tue Feb 09, 2021 12:24 pm

Hi,

Have you read the suggestions made earlier in this topic? Which settings did you check? How are they set?

Greg
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Check out our Mixcraft University 101 video tutorials.

mbkeareny
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2020 9:50 am

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by mbkeareny » Tue Feb 09, 2021 1:19 pm

Yes, I looked at the suggestions but before I tried anything else I pulled out my laptop that still had build 462 of MixCraft Pro 64-bit. Lo and behold, the same .wav files that were an issue with build 469 on my desktop loaded just fine into build 462. No timing issues whatsoever, everything synched up just fine. I had set the project tempo to the same as the BiaB files tempo in a blank project before dragging and dropping and it was perfect. As a quick experiment I tried dragging and dropping the files again without setting the tempo and (of course) the tracks were not synched to the tempo but at least they were all in synch with each other. Once I changed the project tempo in MixCraft every thing was correct again.

I spent a week blaming this on BiaB and trying everything to fix it to no avail. Now, for whatever reason, I am convinced something changed in MixCraft 469 build. What is puzzling to me is that I bring in four separate .wav files that originated in BiaB at a given tempo and once I bring them in to MixCraft 469 the drum track has the correct tempo but each of the other three tracks has its own unique random tempo.

I'm going back to build 462 in the meantime as I've lost way to much time and sanity trying to figure this out...

Axl
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 10:48 pm

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by Axl » Tue Feb 09, 2021 8:35 pm

I hear you, the loop sync in Mixcraft is one of the weakest points of this DAW, and the support for help videos is very poor in this aspect. A bummer. The loops simply don't sync because the algorithm MC9 uses simply doesn't work. If it did, all loops would sync perfectly.

bigaquarium
Posts: 564
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:21 am

Re: Tempo change on imported .wav file

Post by bigaquarium » Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:43 pm

On a similar note, I have caught a few projects revert to 120bpm that were not saved that way. I just wrapped up a video this morning that was 80bpm but somehow it reopened at 120bpm and all the clips were wrong, but resetting the tempo to 80 made everything ok.

Moral of the story: to avoid having a nervous breakdown, keep an eye on the tempo!

Nathan
youtube.com/c/fansofmixcraft
soundcloud.com/fansofmixcraft

Post Reply