Drum beat programming

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan, Acoustica Greg

Post Reply
cactus-head
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Drum beat programming

Post by cactus-head » Wed Feb 24, 2021 7:08 pm

Hello,

Years ago I had a drum machine. When you wanted to program a drum beat, you chose the time signature and the number of beats/measures and the tempo. When you would hit start, the phrase would repeat with a metronome tick and you could tap various drums in time with the beat. You could keep adding drums, or edit individual beats as you went all while the pattern would loop in real time.

Is there any way to do this same kind of thing in Mixcraft? I don't want multiple lanes forming, I just want to continuously loop a single pattern and edit it in real time by adding additional drums or removing incorrect beats or drums. I'm not talking about a step sequencer, I'm talking about live building of a drum pattern.

Thank you

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by trevlyns » Thu Feb 25, 2021 1:39 am

Hi
Overdub recoding mode.
Have a look this video from bout 50 sec in
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw80Wr0 ... l=Mixcraft
EDIT: yes, it creates multiple lanes, but they can be merged to a single lane once editing is complete.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

Dude705
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 9:35 am

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by Dude705 » Thu Feb 25, 2021 6:51 am

You could also just click and drag any existing drum loop(s) from the library and modify them accordingly. Once you have a loop in a track, click the track/loop and click on the sound tab and modify the midi for it.

cactus-head
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by cactus-head » Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:30 am

Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Overdub is the closest that I can get to what I'm trying to do. It would be nice if there was a toggle to build a single clip with overdub as opposed to multiple lanes. The lanes are nice in that you can easily edit an individual element after the fact, but a bit of an interruption of the workflow if you don't and/or there are multiple lanes to contend with.

I was going to ask about quantizing "live" as I'm playing, but I see there is an option in the Arm track drop down.
Last edited by cactus-head on Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by trevlyns » Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:47 am

cactus-head wrote:
Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:30 am
Thanks for the suggestions everyone. Overdub is the closest that I can get to what I'm trying to do. Now how about quantizing "Live" as I'm playing? Not editing after the fact. Is that the selection at the top of the project next to time/beats? I assumed that was just clip alignment.
Right click the arm button>Automatic Quantization :wink:
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

cactus-head
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by cactus-head » Thu Feb 25, 2021 10:54 am

Thanks, Trev.

I was editing my post at the same time you were posting! :)

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by trevlyns » Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:37 pm

you're welcome buddy :D
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

GovernmentMule
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 3:58 pm

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by GovernmentMule » Thu Feb 25, 2021 3:27 pm

Have you tried to find any Drum Machine software instruments (VST's)? I've seen them around before. Maybe you can find one that acts like that old drum machine.

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by trevlyns » Thu Feb 25, 2021 3:55 pm

Drum kits.png
Drum kits.png (28.03 KiB) Viewed 390 times
Keep on trackin'

Trevor
Official OFC™ Founding Member
Win 10 64 bit; MX9 Pro; Intel core i-5 - 2500 CPU@ 3.30 GHz; 4 GB RAM
Sample Projects: https://soundcloud.com/user-207376906

User avatar
comedians
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:24 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by comedians » Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:59 am

You could try this quick tip from Cameron at Venus Theory. I find it works quite well.

https://youtu.be/HfZyuBVgQyc

cactus-head
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by cactus-head » Sat Feb 27, 2021 6:24 pm

@comedians

I like that. That method was staring me in the face but I would never had made the connection. I'm gonna give that a try. Thanks for the suggestion.

User avatar
Acoustica Greg
Posts: 21804
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: Drum beat programming

Post by Acoustica Greg » Wed Mar 03, 2021 1:05 pm

Such a good Quick Tip.
Mixcraft - The Musician's DAW
Give it a try here: http://acoustica.com/mixcraft/
Check out our Mixcraft University video tutorials.

Post Reply